lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 9 May 2019 09:38:54 +0800
From:   Aubrey Li <aubrey.intel@...il.com>
To:     Subhra Mazumdar <subhra.mazumdar@...cle.com>
Cc:     Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Aaron Lu <aaron.lu@...ux.alibaba.com>,
        Vineeth Remanan Pillai <vpillai@...italocean.com>,
        Nishanth Aravamudan <naravamudan@...italocean.com>,
        Julien Desfossez <jdesfossez@...italocean.com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Paul Turner <pjt@...gle.com>,
        Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Linux List Kernel Mailing <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Frédéric Weisbecker <fweisbec@...il.com>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Greg Kerr <kerrnel@...gle.com>, Phil Auld <pauld@...hat.com>,
        Aaron Lu <aaron.lwe@...il.com>,
        Valentin Schneider <valentin.schneider@....com>,
        Mel Gorman <mgorman@...hsingularity.net>,
        Pawan Gupta <pawan.kumar.gupta@...ux.intel.com>,
        Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH v2 11/17] sched: Basic tracking of matching tasks

On Thu, May 9, 2019 at 8:29 AM Subhra Mazumdar
<subhra.mazumdar@...cle.com> wrote:
>
>
> On 5/8/19 5:01 PM, Aubrey Li wrote:
> > On Thu, May 9, 2019 at 2:41 AM Subhra Mazumdar
> > <subhra.mazumdar@...cle.com> wrote:
> >>
> >> On 5/8/19 11:19 AM, Subhra Mazumdar wrote:
> >>> On 5/8/19 8:49 AM, Aubrey Li wrote:
> >>>>> Pawan ran an experiment setting up 2 VMs, with one VM doing a
> >>>>> parallel kernel build and one VM doing sysbench,
> >>>>> limiting both VMs to run on 16 cpu threads (8 physical cores), with
> >>>>> 8 vcpu for each VM.
> >>>>> Making the fix did improve kernel build time by 7%.
> >>>> I'm gonna agree with the patch below, but just wonder if the testing
> >>>> result is consistent,
> >>>> as I didn't see any improvement in my testing environment.
> >>>>
> >>>> IIUC, from the code behavior, especially for 2 VMs case(only 2
> >>>> different cookies), the
> >>>> per-rq rb tree unlikely has nodes with different cookies, that is, all
> >>>> the nodes on this
> >>>> tree should have the same cookie, so:
> >>>> - if the parameter cookie is equal to the rb tree cookie, we meet a
> >>>> match and go the
> >>>> third branch
> >>>> - else, no matter we go left or right, we can't find a match, and
> >>>> we'll return idle thread
> >>>> finally.
> >>>>
> >>>> Please correct me if I was wrong.
> >>>>
> >>>> Thanks,
> >>>> -Aubrey
> >>> This is searching in the per core rb tree (rq->core_tree) which can have
> >>> 2 different cookies. But having said that, even I didn't see any
> >>> improvement with the patch for my DB test case. But logically it is
> >>> correct.
> >>>
> >> Ah, my bad. It is per rq. But still can have 2 different cookies. Not sure
> >> why you think it is unlikely?
> > Yeah, I meant 2 different cookies on the system, but unlikely 2
> > different cookies
> > on one same rq.
> >
> > If I read the source correctly, for the sched_core_balance path, when try to
> > steal cookie from another CPU, sched_core_find() uses dst's cookie to search
> > if there is a cookie match in src's rq, and sched_core_find() returns idle or
> > matched task, and later put this matched task onto dst's rq (activate_task() in
> > sched_core_find()). At this moment, the nodes on the rq's rb tree should have
> > same cookies.
> >
> > Thanks,
> > -Aubrey
> Yes, but sched_core_find is also called from pick_task to find a local
> matching task.

Can a local searching introduce a different cookies? Where is it from?

> The enqueue side logic of the scheduler is unchanged with
> core scheduling,

But only the task with cookies is placed onto this rb tree?

> so it is possible tasks with different cookies are
> enqueued on the same rq. So while searching for a matching task locally
> doing it correctly should matter.

May I know how exactly?

Thanks,
-Aubrey

Powered by blists - more mailing lists