lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 16 May 2019 11:42:30 +0200
From:   Oleksandr Natalenko <oleksandr@...hat.com>
To:     linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     Kirill Tkhai <ktkhai@...tuozzo.com>,
        Hugh Dickins <hughd@...gle.com>,
        Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@...il.com>,
        Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>,
        Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>,
        Matthew Wilcox <willy@...radead.org>,
        Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@...een.com>,
        Greg KH <greg@...ah.com>,
        Suren Baghdasaryan <surenb@...gle.com>,
        Minchan Kim <minchan@...nel.org>,
        Timofey Titovets <nefelim4ag@...il.com>,
        Aaron Tomlin <atomlin@...hat.com>,
        Grzegorz Halat <ghalat@...hat.com>, linux-mm@...ck.org,
        linux-api@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH RFC 1/5] proc: introduce madvise placeholder

Add a write-only /proc/<pid>/madvise file to handle remote madvise
operations.

For now, this is just a soother that does nothing.

Signed-off-by: Oleksandr Natalenko <oleksandr@...hat.com>
---
 fs/proc/base.c | 20 ++++++++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 20 insertions(+)

diff --git a/fs/proc/base.c b/fs/proc/base.c
index 6a803a0b75df..f69532d6b74f 100644
--- a/fs/proc/base.c
+++ b/fs/proc/base.c
@@ -2957,6 +2957,25 @@ static int proc_stack_depth(struct seq_file *m, struct pid_namespace *ns,
 }
 #endif /* CONFIG_STACKLEAK_METRICS */
 
+static ssize_t madvise_write(struct file *file, const char __user *buf,
+		size_t count, loff_t *ppos)
+{
+	struct task_struct *task;
+
+	task = get_proc_task(file_inode(file));
+	if (!task)
+		return -ESRCH;
+
+	put_task_struct(task);
+
+	return count;
+}
+
+static const struct file_operations proc_madvise_operations = {
+	.write		= madvise_write,
+	.llseek		= noop_llseek,
+};
+
 /*
  * Thread groups
  */
@@ -3061,6 +3080,7 @@ static const struct pid_entry tgid_base_stuff[] = {
 #ifdef CONFIG_STACKLEAK_METRICS
 	ONE("stack_depth", S_IRUGO, proc_stack_depth),
 #endif
+	REG("madvise", S_IRUGO|S_IWUSR, proc_madvise_operations),
 };
 
 static int proc_tgid_base_readdir(struct file *file, struct dir_context *ctx)
-- 
2.21.0

Powered by blists - more mailing lists