lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 16 May 2019 14:07:16 +0300
From:   Mike Rapoport <rppt@...ux.ibm.com>
To:     Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>
Cc:     Hsin-Yi Wang <hsinyi@...omium.org>,
        "moderated list:ARM/FREESCALE IMX / MXC ARM ARCHITECTURE" 
        <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Frank Rowand <frowand.list@...il.com>,
        Devicetree List <devicetree@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Stephen Boyd <swboyd@...omium.org>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Rasmus Villemoes <linux@...musvillemoes.dk>,
        Architecture Mailman List <boot-architecture@...ts.linaro.org>,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>,
        Miles Chen <miles.chen@...iatek.com>,
        James Morse <james.morse@....com>,
        Andrew Murray <andrew.murray@....com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 2/2] amr64: map FDT as RW for early_init_dt_scan()

On Wed, May 15, 2019 at 10:11:53PM +0200, Ard Biesheuvel wrote:
> On Wed, 15 May 2019 at 12:24, Hsin-Yi Wang <hsinyi@...omium.org> wrote:
> >
> > On Tue, May 14, 2019 at 11:42 PM Mike Rapoport <rppt@...ux.ibm.com> wrote:
> >
> > > I'm not sure if early console is available at the time kaslr_early_init()
> > > is called, but if yes, running with memblock=debug may shed some light.
> > >
> > > > I didn't trace the real reason causing this. But in this case, maybe
> > > > don't call memblock_reserve() in kaslr?
> > >
> > > My concern that this uncovered a real bug which might hit us later.
> > >
> > Hi Mike,
> > Thanks for the hint. I tried on my device but seems that earlycon
> > happens after the warning call trace, so can't more information.
> >
> > Since on my device kaslr will be runned, I tried call
> > memblock_reserve() in kaslr and not in
> > setup_machine_fdt()#fixmap_remap_fdt, but got following warning
> >
> 
> I realize this is not documented sufficiently in the commit log, but
> the reason I introduced the separate __fixmap_remap_fdt() [which does
> not call memblock_reserve()] was that the KASLR init code should set
> as little global state as possible, given that it is called with the
> kernel mapped at the wrong virtual address.
> 
> The KASLR boot sequence is something like
> - map kernel at default [unrandomized] address
> - apply relocations and clear BSS
> - run KASLR init to map and parse the FDT [*]
> - if KASLR is enabled, unmap the kernel and remap it at the randomized address
> - apply relocations and clear BSS
> - proceed with start_kernel()
>
> The issue you are seeing is caused by the fact that the memblock
> bookkeeping gets into an inconsistent state due to the 2nd clearing of
> BSS.

Ah, now the warning makes perfect sense :)
Thanks!

> [*] The reason we need to map the FDT this early is to obtain the
> random seed, and to check whether 'nokaslr' was passed on the kernel
> command line. The reason arm64 deviates from other architectures in
> this regard is that we don't have a decompressor, and so there is no
> other execution context available where we can run C code to parse the
> FDT etc before we enter the kernel proper.
> 
> 
> 
> 
> > [    0.000000] memblock_remove:
> > [0x0001000000000000-0x0000fffffffffffe] arm64_memblock_init+0x28/0x224
> > [    0.000000] memblock_remove:
> > [0x0000004040000000-0x000000403ffffffe] arm64_memblock_init+0x64/0x224
> > [    0.000000] memblock_reserve:
> > [0x0000000040080000-0x00000000413c3fff]
> > arm64_memblock_init+0x188/0x224
> > [    0.000000] WARNING: CPU: 0 PID: 0 at
> > /mnt/host/source/src/third_party/kernel/v4.19/mm/memblock.c:583
> > memblock_add_range+0x1bc/0x1c8
> > [    0.000000] Modules linked in:
> > [    0.000000] CPU: 0 PID: 0 Comm: swapper Not tainted 4.19.38 #222
> > [    0.000000] Hardware name: MediaTek kukui rev2 board (DT)
> > [    0.000000] pstate: 60000085 (nZCv daIf -PAN -UAO)
> > [    0.000000] pc : memblock_add_range+0x1bc/0x1c8
> > [    0.000000] lr : memblock_add_range+0x30/0x1c8
> > [    0.000000] sp : ffffffab68603ea0
> > [    0.000000] x29: ffffffab68603ef0 x28: 0000000040954324
> > [    0.000000] x27: 0000000040080000 x26: 0000000000080000
> > [    0.000000] x25: 0000000080127e4b x24: ffffffab68716000
> > [    0.000000] x23: ffffffab680b5000 x22: 0000000001344000
> > [    0.000000] x21: 0000000040080000 x20: 0000000000000000
> > [    0.000000] x19: ffffffab6864bf00 x18: 00000000fffffc94
> > [    0.000000] x17: 000000000000003c x16: ffffffab67d49064
> > [    0.000000] x15: 0000000000000006 x14: 626d656d5f34366d
> > [    0.000000] x13: 7261205d66666633 x12: 0000000000000000
> > [    0.000000] x11: 0000000000000000 x10: ffffffffffffffff
> > [    0.000000] x9 : 0000000000011547 x8 : ffffffab68765690
> > [    0.000000] x7 : 696e695f6b636f6c x6 : ffffffab6875dd41
> > [    0.000000] x5 : 0000000000000000 x4 : 0000000000000000
> > [    0.000000] x3 : ffffffab678a24a0 x2 : 0000000001344000
> > [    0.000000] x1 : 0000000040080000 x0 : ffffffab6864bf00
> > [    0.000000] Call trace:
> > [    0.000000]  memblock_add_range+0x1bc/0x1c8
> > [    0.000000]  memblock_reserve+0x60/0xac
> > [    0.000000]  arm64_memblock_init+0x188/0x224
> > [    0.000000]  setup_arch+0x138/0x19c
> > [    0.000000]  start_kernel+0x68/0x380
> > [    0.000000] random: get_random_bytes called from
> > print_oops_end_marker+0x3c/0x58 with crng_init=0
> > [    0.000000] ---[ end trace ea99802b425f7adf ]---
> > [    0.000000] memblock_reserve:
> > [0x000000005f800000-0x000000005f811536]
> > early_init_dt_reserve_memory_arch+0x38/0x48
> > [    0.000000] memblock_reserve:
> > [0x00000000ffe00000-0x00000000ffffffff]
> > early_init_dt_reserve_memory_arch+0x38/0x48
> >
> > So I guess we just can't call memblock_reserve() in kaslr?
> 

-- 
Sincerely yours,
Mike.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists