lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 17 May 2019 00:48:47 +0800
From:   Hsin-Yi Wang <hsinyi@...omium.org>
To:     Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>
Cc:     "moderated list:ARM/FREESCALE IMX / MXC ARM ARCHITECTURE" 
        <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>, devicetree@...r.kernel.org,
        "linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Frank Rowand <frowand.list@...il.com>,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Mike Rapoport <rppt@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
        Miles Chen <miles.chen@...iatek.com>,
        James Morse <james.morse@....com>,
        Andrew Murray <andrew.murray@....com>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Jun Yao <yaojun8558363@...il.com>, Yu Zhao <yuzhao@...gle.com>,
        Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@....com>,
        Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>,
        Stephen Boyd <swboyd@...omium.org>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 2/3] arm64: implement update_fdt_pgprot()

On Thu, May 16, 2019 at 11:32 PM Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org> wrote:

> Doesn't kexec operate on a copy because it already does modifications.
>
Hi Rob,

This patch is to assist "[PATCH v3 3/3] fdt: add support for rng-seed"
(https://lkml.org/lkml/2019/5/16/257). I thought that by default
second kernel would use original fdt, so I write new seed back to
original fdt. Might be wrong.

** "[PATCH v3 3/3] fdt: add support for rng-seed" is supposed to
handle for adding new seed in kexec case, discussed in v2
(https://lkml.org/lkml/2019/5/13/425)

By default (not considering user defines their own fdt), if second
kernel uses copied fdt, when is it copied and can we modify that?

Thanks!

Powered by blists - more mailing lists