lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 20 May 2019 00:04:45 +0800
From:   Hsin-Yi Wang <hsinyi@...omium.org>
To:     linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org
Cc:     Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>, devicetree@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Frank Rowand <frowand.list@...il.com>,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Mike Rapoport <rppt@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
        Miles Chen <miles.chen@...iatek.com>,
        Hsin-Yi Wang <hsinyi@...omium.org>,
        James Morse <james.morse@....com>,
        Andrew Murray <andrew.murray@....com>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Jun Yao <yaojun8558363@...il.com>, Yu Zhao <yuzhao@...gle.com>,
        Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@....com>,
        Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>,
        Stephen Boyd <swboyd@...omium.org>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
Subject: [PATCH v4 2/3] fdt: add support for rng-seed

Introducing a chosen node, rng-seed, which is an entropy that can be
passed to kernel called very early to increase initial device
randomness. Bootloader should provide this entropy and the value is
read from /chosen/rng-seed in DT.

Signed-off-by: Hsin-Yi Wang <hsinyi@...omium.org>
---
change log v2->v4:
* v3 abandoned
* fix doc error
---
 Documentation/devicetree/bindings/chosen.txt | 14 ++++++++++++++
 drivers/of/fdt.c                             | 10 ++++++++++
 2 files changed, 24 insertions(+)

diff --git a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/chosen.txt b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/chosen.txt
index 45e79172a646..678e81bc4383 100644
--- a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/chosen.txt
+++ b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/chosen.txt
@@ -28,6 +28,20 @@ mode) when EFI_RNG_PROTOCOL is supported, it will be overwritten by
 the Linux EFI stub (which will populate the property itself, using
 EFI_RNG_PROTOCOL).
 
+rng-seed
+-----------
+
+This property serves as an entropy to add device randomness. It is parsed
+as a byte array, e.g.
+
+/ {
+	chosen {
+		rng-seed = <0x31 0x95 0x1b 0x3c 0xc9 0xfa 0xb3 ...>;
+	};
+};
+
+This random value should be provided by bootloader.
+
 stdout-path
 -----------
 
diff --git a/drivers/of/fdt.c b/drivers/of/fdt.c
index de893c9616a1..7f3d72921b23 100644
--- a/drivers/of/fdt.c
+++ b/drivers/of/fdt.c
@@ -24,6 +24,7 @@
 #include <linux/debugfs.h>
 #include <linux/serial_core.h>
 #include <linux/sysfs.h>
+#include <linux/random.h>
 
 #include <asm/setup.h>  /* for COMMAND_LINE_SIZE */
 #include <asm/page.h>
@@ -1079,6 +1080,7 @@ int __init early_init_dt_scan_chosen(unsigned long node, const char *uname,
 {
 	int l;
 	const char *p;
+	const void *rng_seed;
 
 	pr_debug("search \"chosen\", depth: %d, uname: %s\n", depth, uname);
 
@@ -1113,6 +1115,14 @@ int __init early_init_dt_scan_chosen(unsigned long node, const char *uname,
 
 	pr_debug("Command line is: %s\n", (char*)data);
 
+	rng_seed = of_get_flat_dt_prop(node, "rng-seed", &l);
+	if (rng_seed && l > 0) {
+		add_device_randomness(rng_seed, l);
+
+		/* try to clear seed so it won't be found. */
+		fdt_delprop(initial_boot_params, node, "rng-seed");
+	}
+
 	/* break now */
 	return 1;
 }
-- 
2.20.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists