lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 20 May 2019 10:09:39 +0200
From:   Arend Van Spriel <arend.vanspriel@...adcom.com>
To:     Douglas Anderson <dianders@...omium.org>,
        Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org>,
        Kalle Valo <kvalo@...eaurora.org>,
        Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@...el.com>
Cc:     linux-rockchip@...ts.infradead.org,
        Double Lo <double.lo@...ress.com>, briannorris@...omium.org,
        Madhan Mohan R <madhanmohan.r@...ress.com>, mka@...omium.org,
        Wright Feng <wright.feng@...ress.com>,
        Chi-Hsien Lin <chi-hsien.lin@...ress.com>,
        brcm80211-dev-list.pdl@...adcom.com,
        Franky Lin <franky.lin@...adcom.com>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-wireless@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Hante Meuleman <hante.meuleman@...adcom.com>,
        Naveen Gupta <naveen.gupta@...ress.com>,
        brcm80211-dev-list@...ress.com, YueHaibing <yuehaibing@...wei.com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/3] brcmfmac: re-enable command decode in sdio_aos for
 BRCM 4354



On 5/18/2019 12:54 AM, Douglas Anderson wrote:
> In commit 29f6589140a1 ("brcmfmac: disable command decode in
> sdio_aos") we disabled something called "command decode in sdio_aos"
> for a whole bunch of Broadcom SDIO WiFi parts.
> 
> After that patch landed I find that my kernel log on
> rk3288-veyron-minnie and rk3288-veyron-speedy is filled with:
>    brcmfmac: brcmf_sdio_bus_sleep: error while changing bus sleep state -110
> 
> This seems to happen every time the Broadcom WiFi transitions out of
> sleep mode.  Reverting the part of the commit that affects the WiFi on
> my boards fixes the problem for me, so that's what this patch does.

This sounds very similar to the issue we had during integration of wifi 
on rk3288 chromebooks years ago.

> Note that, in general, the justification in the original commit seemed
> a little weak.  It looked like someone was testing on a SD card
> controller that would sometimes die if there were CRC errors on the
> bus.  This used to happen back in early days of dw_mmc (the controller
> on my boards), but we fixed it.  Disabling a feature on all boards
> just because one SD card controller is broken seems bad.  ...so
> instead of just this patch possibly the right thing to do is to fully
> revert the original commit.

I am leaning towards a full revert, but let's wait for more background info.

Regards,
Arend

Powered by blists - more mailing lists