lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 14 Jun 2019 11:24:18 -0700
From:   Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>
To:     Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@....com>
Cc:     devicetree@...r.kernel.org, LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 00/28] drivers: Consolidate device lookup helpers

(dropping the very long cc list just cc'ing LKML and devicetree)

On Fri, 2019-06-14 at 18:53 +0100, Suzuki K Poulose wrote:
> We have device iterators to find a particular device matching a criteria
> for a given bus/class/driver. i.e, {bus,class,driver}_find_device() APIs.
> The matching criteria is a function pointer for the APIs. Often the lookup
> is based on a generic property of a device (e.g, name, fwnode, of node pointer
> or device type) rather than a driver specific information. However, each driver
> writes up its own "match" function, spilling the similar match functions all
> over the driver subsystems.
> 
> Additionally the prototype for the "match" functions accepted by the above APIs
> have a minute difference which prevents us otherwise sharing the match functions.
> i.e,
> 	int (*match)(struct device *dev, void *data) for {bus/driver}_find_device()
> 	  vs
> 	int (*match)(struct device *dev, const void *) for class_find_device()
> 

As you are doing treewide conversions, perhaps using

	bool (*match)(...)

is a more sensible api.

> Changes since v1:
>  - Drop start parameter for *_find_device_by_devt().
>  - Fix build warnings for s390
>  - Add *_find_device_by_acpi_dev() wrappers.
>  - Group wrappers and the consumers into single patch, reducing
>    the total patches to 28 from 57. (Rafael).
>  - Better description for acpi cleanup patch.
>  - Added tags from v1.

Below this is a _very_ long list of cc:'s.

If the list is generated using scripts/get_maintainer.pl
perhaps it is more sensible to add --nogit --nogit-fallback
to its arguments to cc actual maintainers and avoid people
that have submitted cleanup style patches to various files.

> Cc: Alan Tull <atull@...nel.org>
> Cc: Alessandro Zummo <a.zummo@...ertech.it>
> Cc: Alexander Aring <alex.aring@...il.com>
> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>
> Cc: Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@...tlin.com>
> Cc: Andreas Noever <andreas.noever@...il.com>
> Cc: Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>
> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>
> Cc: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@...gle.com>
> Cc: Corey Minyard <minyard@....org>
> Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel@...ll.ch>
> Cc: Dan Murphy <dmurphy@...com>
> Cc: David Airlie <airlied@...ux.ie>
> Cc: David Kershner <david.kershner@...sys.com>
> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>
> Cc: Doug Ledford <dledford@...hat.com>
> Cc: dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org
> Cc: Elie Morisse <syniurge@...il.com>
> Cc: Eric Anholt <eric@...olt.net>
> Cc: Felipe Balbi <balbi@...nel.org>
> Cc: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>
> Cc: Frank Rowand <frowand.list@...il.com>
> Cc: Grant Likely <grant.likely@....com>
> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>
> Cc: Grygorii Strashko <grygorii.strashko@...com>
> Cc: Harald Freudenberger <freude@...ux.ibm.com>
> Cc: Hartmut Knaack <knaack.h@....de>
> Cc: Heikki Krogerus <heikki.krogerus@...ux.intel.com>
> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@...ibm.com>
> Cc: "Heiko Stübner" <heiko@...ech.de>
> Cc: Heiko Stuebner <heiko@...ech.de>
> Cc: Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>
> Cc: Inki Dae <inki.dae@...sung.com>
> Cc: Jacek Anaszewski <jacek.anaszewski@...il.com>
> Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@...ux.ibm.com>
> Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@...pe.ca>
> Cc: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@...e.com>
> Cc: Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>
> Cc: Joerg Roedel <joro@...tes.org>
> Cc: Jonathan Cameron <jic23@...nel.org>
> Cc: Jonathan Hunter <jonathanh@...dia.com>
> Cc: Lee Jones <lee.jones@...aro.org>
> Cc: Len Brown <lenb@...nel.org
> Cc: Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@...il.com>
> Cc: Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@...ux.intel.com>
> Cc: Mark Brown <broonie@...nel.org>
> Cc: "Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@...cle.com>
> Cc: Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@...aro.org>
> Cc: Maxime Coquelin <mcoquelin.stm32@...il.com>
> Cc: Maxime Ripard <maxime.ripard@...tlin.com>
> Cc: Michael Jamet <michael.jamet@...el.com>
> Cc: Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@...ux.intel.com>
> Cc: Moritz Fischer <mdf@...nel.org>
> Cc: Nehal Shah <nehal-bakulchandra.shah@....com>
> Cc: Oliver Neukum <oneukum@...e.com>
> Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>
> Cc: Peter Oberparleiter <oberpar@...ux.ibm.com>
> Cc: Peter Rosin <peda@...ntia.se>
> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@...el.com>
> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@...nel.org>
> Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>
> Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>
> Cc: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@....com>
> Cc: Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>
> Cc: Sandy Huang <hjc@...k-chips.com>
> Cc: Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@...utronix.de>
> Cc: Sebastian Ott <sebott@...ux.ibm.com>
> Cc: Seung-Woo Kim <sw0312.kim@...sung.com>
> Cc: Shyam Sundar S K <shyam-sundar.s-k@....com>
> Cc: Srinivas Kandagatla <srinivas.kandagatla@...aro.org>
> Cc: Stefan Schmidt <stefan@...enfreihafen.org>
> Cc: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@...e.com>
> Cc: Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@...il.com>
> Cc: Thor Thayer <thor.thayer@...ux.intel.com>
> Cc: Tomas Winkler <tomas.winkler@...el.com>
> Cc: Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>
> Cc: Wolfram Sang <wsa@...-dreams.de>
> Cc: devicetree@...r.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-fpga@...r.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-i2c@...r.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-leds@...r.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-rockchip@...ts.infradead.org
> Cc: linux-rtc@...r.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-spi@...r.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-usb@...r.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-wpan@...r.kernel.org



Powered by blists - more mailing lists