lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sat, 15 Jun 2019 14:43:09 +0300
From:   Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@...il.com>
To:     Serge Semin <fancer.lancer@...il.com>
Cc:     Jean Delvare <jdelvare@...e.com>,
        Peter Korsgaard <peter.korsgaard@...co.com>,
        Peter Rosin <peda@...ntia.se>,
        Serge Semin <Sergey.Semin@...latforms.ru>,
        Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@...ux.intel.com>,
        Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@...ux.intel.com>,
        Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>,
        linux-i2c <linux-i2c@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] i2c: mux-gpio: Use "mux" con_id to find channel GPIOs

On Sat, Jun 15, 2019 at 12:51 AM Serge Semin <fancer.lancer@...il.com> wrote:
>
> Recent patch - ("i2c: mux/i801: Switch to use descriptor passing")
> altered the i2c-mux-gpio driver to use the GPIO-descriptor
> based interface to find and request the GPIOs then being utilized
> to select and deselect the channels of GPIO-driven i2c-muxes. Even
> though the proposed modification was correct for the platform_data-based
> systems, it was invalid for the OF-based ones and caused the kernel
> to crash at the driver probe procedure. There were two problems with
> that modification. First of all the gpiod_count() and gpiod_get_index()
> were called with NULL con_id.

I always thought that this means "count me all GPIO's for this device
despite their names" and "get me GPIO by index despite it's name".
What's went wrong?


> Due to this the methods couldn't find
> the "mux-gpios" OF-properties and returned the -ENOENT error. Secondly
> the return value of gpiod_count() wasn't checked for being negative,
> which in case of an error caused the driver to crash. This patch
> is intended to fix the described problems.

-- 
With Best Regards,
Andy Shevchenko

Powered by blists - more mailing lists