lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 26 Jun 2019 11:02:29 +1000
From:   "Alastair D'Silva" <alastair@...ilva.org>
To:     Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>
Cc:     Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@...ux.intel.com>,
        Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@...el.com>,
        David Airlie <airlied@...ux.ie>,
        Daniel Vetter <daniel@...ll.ch>,
        Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@...cle.com>,
        Karsten Keil <isdn@...ux-pingi.de>,
        Jassi Brar <jassisinghbrar@...il.com>,
        Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@....com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jose Abreu <Jose.Abreu@...opsys.com>,
        Kalle Valo <kvalo@...eaurora.org>,
        Stanislaw Gruszka <sgruszka@...hat.com>,
        Benson Leung <bleung@...omium.org>,
        Enric Balletbo i Serra <enric.balletbo@...labora.com>,
        "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@...ux.ibm.com>,
        "Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@...cle.com>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>,
        Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@...il.com>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        David Laight <David.Laight@...LAB.COM>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        intel-gfx@...ts.freedesktop.org, dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        ath10k@...ts.infradead.org, linux-wireless@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-scsi@...r.kernel.org, linux-fbdev@...r.kernel.org,
        devel@...verdev.osuosl.org, linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 0/7] Hexdump Enhancements

On Mon, 2019-06-24 at 22:01 -0700, Joe Perches wrote:
> On Tue, 2019-06-25 at 13:17 +1000, Alastair D'Silva wrote:
> > From: Alastair D'Silva <alastair@...ilva.org>
> > 
> > Apologies for the large CC list, it's a heads up for those
> > responsible
> > for subsystems where a prototype change in generic code causes a
> > change
> > in those subsystems.
> []
> > The default behaviour of hexdump is unchanged, however, the
> > prototype
> > for hex_dump_to_buffer() has changed, and print_hex_dump() has been
> > renamed to print_hex_dump_ext(), with a wrapper replacing it for
> > compatibility with existing code, which would have been too
> > invasive to
> > change.
> 
> I believe this cover letter is misleading.
> 
> The point of the wrapper is to avoid unnecessary changes
> in existing
> code.
> 
> 

The wrapper is for print_hex_dump(), which has many callers.

The changes to existing code are for hex_dump_to_buffer(), which is
called in relatively few places.

-- 
Alastair D'Silva           mob: 0423 762 819
skype: alastair_dsilva    
Twitter: @EvilDeece
blog: http://alastair.d-silva.org


Powered by blists - more mailing lists