lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 26 Jun 2019 16:56:18 +0200
From:   Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>
To:     Matthias Kaehlcke <mka@...omium.org>
Cc:     Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@...il.com>,
        Lee Jones <lee.jones@...aro.org>,
        Daniel Thompson <daniel.thompson@...aro.org>,
        Jingoo Han <jingoohan1@...il.com>,
        Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <b.zolnierkie@...sung.com>,
        linux-pwm@...r.kernel.org, dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org,
        linux-fbdev@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Enric Balletbo i Serra <enric.balletbo@...labora.com>,
        Douglas Anderson <dianders@...omium.org>,
        Brian Norris <briannorris@...omium.org>,
        Jacek Anaszewski <jacek.anaszewski@...il.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 4/4] backlight: pwm_bl: Set scale type for brightness
 curves specified in the DT

On Mon 2019-06-24 13:31:13, Matthias Kaehlcke wrote:
> Check if a brightness curve specified in the device tree is linear or
> not and set the corresponding property accordingly. This makes the
> scale type available to userspace via the 'scale' sysfs attribute.
> 
> To determine if a curve is linear it is compared to a interpolated linear
> curve between min and max brightness. The curve is considered linear if
> no value deviates more than +/-5% of ${brightness_range} from their
> interpolated value.

I don't think this works. Some hardware does takes brightness in perceptual units,
converting it in the LED controller.

									Pavel

Powered by blists - more mailing lists