lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu,  4 Jul 2019 13:06:16 +0530
From:   Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@...aro.org>
To:     Rafael Wysocki <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
        Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@...aro.org>,
        Kevin Hilman <khilman@...nel.org>, Len Brown <lenb@...nel.org>,
        Len Brown <len.brown@...el.com>, Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>,
        Srinivas Pandruvada <srinivas.pandruvada@...ux.intel.com>,
        Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org>
Cc:     Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@...aro.org>, linux-pm@...r.kernel.org,
        Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@...aro.org>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, Matthias Kaehlcke <mka@...omium.org>,
        "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@...el.com>
Subject: [PATCH V6 0/7] cpufreq: Use QoS layer to manage freq-constraints

Hello,

Sorry about another version after another round of embarrassment over
compilation issues. The same patches have gone through pm/linux-next and
linux-next/master earlier, not sure why the current issues never came up
before. Anyway, they were stupid coding mistakes :(

I have pushed these patches again for the build bot to test, which
should finish before these get merged in PM tree now.

This patchset attempts to manage CPU frequency constraints using the PM
QoS framework. It only does the basic stuff right now and moves the
userspace constraints to use the QoS infrastructure.

Todo:
- Migrate all users to the QoS framework and get rid of cpufreq specific
  notifiers.
- Make PM QoS learn about the relation of CPUs in a policy, so a single
  list of constraints is managed for all of them instead of per-cpu
  constraints.

V5->V6:
- Fixed compilation issues with !CONFIG_PM case on riscv architecture.

V4->V5:
- A new patch added, 6/7.

V3->V4:
- Few commit logs updated as suggested during reviews.
- Separate commit (2/6) to create resume-latency specific routines
- Reused earlier work ("update") for notifiers as well.
- Kept Reviewed-by tags as is as the patches normally got better only.
  Please take them back if you find any issues.

V2->V3:
- Add a comment in cpufreq.c as suggested by Qais.
- Rebased on latest pm/linux-next.

V1->V2:
- The previous version introduced a completely new framework, this one
  moves to PM QoS instead.
- Lots of changes because of this.

--
viresh

Viresh Kumar (7):
  PM / QOS: Pass request type to dev_pm_qos_{add|remove}_notifier()
  PM / QOS: Rename __dev_pm_qos_read_value() and
    dev_pm_qos_raw_read_value()
  PM / QOS: Pass request type to dev_pm_qos_read_value()
  PM / QoS: Add support for MIN/MAX frequency constraints
  cpufreq: Register notifiers with the PM QoS framework
  cpufreq: intel_pstate: Reuse refresh_frequency_limits()
  cpufreq: Add QoS requests for userspace constraints

 Documentation/power/pm_qos_interface.txt |  12 +-
 drivers/base/power/domain.c              |   8 +-
 drivers/base/power/domain_governor.c     |   4 +-
 drivers/base/power/qos.c                 | 135 +++++++++++++--
 drivers/base/power/runtime.c             |   2 +-
 drivers/cpufreq/cpufreq.c                | 201 ++++++++++++++++-------
 drivers/cpufreq/intel_pstate.c           |   7 +-
 drivers/cpuidle/governor.c               |   2 +-
 include/linux/cpufreq.h                  |  12 +-
 include/linux/pm_qos.h                   |  48 ++++--
 10 files changed, 320 insertions(+), 111 deletions(-)

-- 
2.21.0.rc0.269.g1a574e7a288b

Powered by blists - more mailing lists