lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 4 Jul 2019 13:40:30 +0300
From:   Dmitry Osipenko <digetx@...il.com>
To:     Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>
Cc:     Sowjanya Komatineni <skomatineni@...dia.com>,
        "thierry.reding@...il.com" <thierry.reding@...il.com>,
        Jon Hunter <jonathanh@...dia.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Jason Cooper <jason@...edaemon.net>,
        Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>,
        Stefan Agner <stefan@...er.ch>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Peter De Schrijver <pdeschrijver@...dia.com>,
        Prashant Gaikwad <pgaikwad@...dia.com>,
        Stephen Boyd <sboyd@...nel.org>,
        linux-clk <linux-clk@...r.kernel.org>,
        "open list:GPIO SUBSYSTEM" <linux-gpio@...r.kernel.org>,
        jckuo@...dia.com, Joseph Lo <josephl@...dia.com>, talho@...dia.com,
        linux-tegra@...r.kernel.org,
        "linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Mikko Perttunen <mperttunen@...dia.com>, spatra@...dia.com,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        "open list:OPEN FIRMWARE AND FLATTENED DEVICE TREE BINDINGS" 
        <devicetree@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH V5 02/18] pinctrl: tegra: Add suspend and resume support

04.07.2019 10:31, Linus Walleij пишет:
> On Sat, Jun 29, 2019 at 5:58 PM Dmitry Osipenko <digetx@...il.com> wrote:
> 
>> Oh, also what about GPIO-pinctrl suspend resume ordering .. is it okay that pinctrl
>> will be resumed after GPIO? Shouldn't a proper pin-muxing be selected at first?
> 
> Thierry sent some initial patches about this I think. We need to use
> device links for this to work properly so he adds support for
> linking the pinctrl and GPIO devices through the ranges.
> 
> For links between pin control handles and their consumers, see also:
> 036f394dd77f pinctrl: Enable device link creation for pin control
> c6045b4e3cad pinctrl: stmfx: enable links creations
> 489b64d66325 pinctrl: stm32: Add links to consumers
> 
> I am using STM32 as guinea pig for this, consider adding links also
> from the Tegra pinctrl. I might simply make these pinctrl consumer
> to producer links default because I think it makes a lot sense.

IIUC, currently the plan is to resume pinctrl *after* GPIO for Tegra210 [1]. But this
contradicts to what was traditionally done for older Tegras where pinctrl was always
resumed first and apparently it won't work well for the GPIO ranges as well. I think this
and the other patchsets related to suspend-resume still need some more thought.

[1] https://patchwork.kernel.org/patch/11012077/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists