lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 14 Feb 2020 01:25:50 +0000
From:   Iuliana Prodan <iuliana.prodan@....com>
To:     Herbert Xu <herbert@...dor.apana.org.au>
CC:     Baolin Wang <baolin.wang@...aro.org>,
        Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
        Corentin Labbe <clabbe.montjoie@...il.com>,
        Horia Geanta <horia.geanta@....com>,
        Maxime Coquelin <mcoquelin.stm32@...il.com>,
        Alexandre Torgue <alexandre.torgue@...com>,
        Maxime Ripard <mripard@...nel.org>,
        Aymen Sghaier <aymen.sghaier@....com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Silvano Di Ninno <silvano.dininno@....com>,
        Franck Lenormand <franck.lenormand@....com>,
        "linux-crypto@...r.kernel.org" <linux-crypto@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        dl-linux-imx <linux-imx@....com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 1/2] crypto: engine - support for parallel requests

On 2/13/2020 8:18 AM, Herbert Xu wrote:
> On Fri, Feb 07, 2020 at 02:36:13PM +0200, Iuliana Prodan wrote:
>>
>> +start_request:
>> +	/* If hardware is busy, do not send any request */
>> +	if (engine->can_enqueue_more) {
>> +		if (!engine->can_enqueue_more(engine))
>> +			goto out;
> 
> Instead of a driver callback I'd rather the driver called into
> the engine telling it to stop/start, similar to how net drivers
> work.
> 

Given your suggestion, I’m thinking of implementing do_one_request, in 
the driver, to return -IN_PROGRESS if the hw can enqueue more and -EBUSY 
if otherwise (solution 1). But, this implies to update all the drivers 
that use crypto-engine (something I wouldn’t mind doing, but I don’t 
have the hw to test it).

My current proposal keeps the backward compatibility of crypto-engine, 
so no need to change the other drivers. If they want to use multiple 
requests or batch requests, they can implement can_enqueue_more, 
respective do_batch_requests (solution 2).

Please, let me know how do you want me to proceed?  Solution 1 or 
solution 2, or… maybe I’ve missed something?

Thanks,
Iulia



Powered by blists - more mailing lists