lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 17 Feb 2020 10:43:58 +0000
From:   Mel Gorman <mgorman@...hsingularity.net>
To:     Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>
Cc:     Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
        Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@...aro.org>,
        Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@...hat.com>,
        Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@....com>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Ben Segall <bsegall@...gle.com>,
        Valentin Schneider <valentin.schneider@....com>,
        Phil Auld <pauld@...hat.com>, Hillf Danton <hdanton@...a.com>,
        LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Mel Gorman <mgorman@...hsingularity.net>
Subject: [PATCH 09/13] sched/fair: Take into account runnable_avg to classify group

From: Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@...aro.org>

Take into account the new runnable_avg signal to classify a group and to
mitigate the volatility of util_avg in face of intensive migration.

Signed-off-by: Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@...aro.org>
---
 kernel/sched/fair.c | 12 +++++++++++-
 1 file changed, 11 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/kernel/sched/fair.c b/kernel/sched/fair.c
index 1feac09f9b22..3d5b8240a356 100644
--- a/kernel/sched/fair.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/fair.c
@@ -7748,7 +7748,8 @@ struct sg_lb_stats {
 	unsigned long avg_load; /*Avg load across the CPUs of the group */
 	unsigned long group_load; /* Total load over the CPUs of the group */
 	unsigned long group_capacity;
-	unsigned long group_util; /* Total utilization of the group */
+	unsigned long group_util; /* Total utilization over the CPUs of the group */
+	unsigned long group_runnable; /* Total runnable time over the CPUs of the group */
 	unsigned int sum_nr_running; /* Nr of tasks running in the group */
 	unsigned int sum_h_nr_running; /* Nr of CFS tasks running in the group */
 	unsigned int idle_cpus;
@@ -7969,6 +7970,10 @@ group_has_capacity(unsigned int imbalance_pct, struct sg_lb_stats *sgs)
 	if (sgs->sum_nr_running < sgs->group_weight)
 		return true;
 
+	if ((sgs->group_capacity * imbalance_pct) <
+			(sgs->group_runnable * 100))
+		return false;
+
 	if ((sgs->group_capacity * 100) >
 			(sgs->group_util * imbalance_pct))
 		return true;
@@ -7994,6 +7999,10 @@ group_is_overloaded(unsigned int imbalance_pct, struct sg_lb_stats *sgs)
 			(sgs->group_util * imbalance_pct))
 		return true;
 
+	if ((sgs->group_capacity * imbalance_pct) <
+			(sgs->group_runnable * 100))
+		return true;
+
 	return false;
 }
 
@@ -8088,6 +8097,7 @@ static inline void update_sg_lb_stats(struct lb_env *env,
 
 		sgs->group_load += cpu_load(rq);
 		sgs->group_util += cpu_util(i);
+		sgs->group_runnable += cpu_runnable(rq);
 		sgs->sum_h_nr_running += rq->cfs.h_nr_running;
 
 		nr_running = rq->nr_running;
-- 
2.16.4

Powered by blists - more mailing lists