lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sat, 7 Mar 2020 11:45:01 +0100
From:   Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com>
To:     Ian Rogers <irogers@...gle.com>
Cc:     Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Namhyung Kim <namhyung@...nel.org>,
        Andi Kleen <ak@...ux.intel.com>,
        Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@...el.com>,
        Leo Yan <leo.yan@...aro.org>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        clang-built-linux@...glegroups.com,
        Stephane Eranian <eranian@...gle.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/1] perf/tool: fix read in event parsing

On Fri, Mar 06, 2020 at 11:31:21PM -0800, Ian Rogers wrote:
> ADD_CONFIG_TERM accesses term->weak, however, in get_config_chgs this
> value is accessed outside of the list_for_each_entry and references
> invalid memory. Add an argument for ADD_CONFIG_TERM for weak and set it
> to false in the get_config_chgs case.
> This bug was cause by clang's address sanitizer and libfuzzer. It can be
> reproduced with a command line of:
>   perf stat -a -e i/bs,tsc,L2/o
> 
> Signed-off-by: Ian Rogers <irogers@...gle.com>

nice catch

Acked-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...nel.org>

thanks,
jirka

Powered by blists - more mailing lists