lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sun, 12 Apr 2020 02:33:38 +0200
From:   Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>
To:     Ard Biesheuvel <ardb@...nel.org>
Cc:     Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        linux-arm-kernel <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        Andrey Ryabinin <ryabinin@...tuozzo.com>,
        Abbott Liu <liuwenliang@...wei.com>,
        bcm-kernel-feedback-list <bcm-kernel-feedback-list@...adcom.com>,
        Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>,
        Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Christoffer Dall <christoffer.dall@....com>,
        Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Nicolas Pitre <nico@...xnic.net>,
        Vladimir Murzin <vladimir.murzin@....com>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Jinbum Park <jinb.park7@...il.com>,
        Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@...tlin.com>,
        Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@...aro.org>,
        Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@...b.com>,
        Rob Landley <rob@...dley.net>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>,
        David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
        Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@...ux-m68k.org>,
        Andre Przywara <andre.przywara@....com>,
        Julien Thierry <julien.thierry@....com>,
        Andrew Jones <drjones@...hat.com>,
        Philip Derrin <philip@....systems>,
        Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>,
        "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>,
        kasan-dev <kasan-dev@...glegroups.com>,
        Linux Doc Mailing List <linux-doc@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        kvmarm <kvmarm@...ts.cs.columbia.edu>,
        Andrey Ryabinin <ryabinin.a.a@...il.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v7 7/7] ARM: Enable KASan for ARM

On Fri, Apr 10, 2020 at 12:45 PM Ard Biesheuvel <ardb@...nel.org> wrote:

> > +CFLAGS_KERNEL          += -D__SANITIZE_ADDRESS__
(...)
> > -                                  $(call cc-option,-mno-single-pic-base)
> > +                                  $(call cc-option,-mno-single-pic-base) \
> > +                                  -D__SANITIZE_ADDRESS__
>
> I am not too crazy about this need to unconditionally 'enable' KASAN
> on the command line like this, in order to be able to disable it again
> when CONFIG_KASAN=y.
>
> Could we instead add something like this at the top of
> arch/arm/boot/compressed/string.c?
>
> #ifdef CONFIG_KASAN
> #undef memcpy
> #undef memmove
> #undef memset
> void *__memcpy(void *__dest, __const void *__src, size_t __n) __alias(memcpy);
> void *__memmove(void *__dest, __const void *__src, size_t count)
> __alias(memmove);
> void *__memset(void *s, int c, size_t count) __alias(memset);
> #endif

I obviously missed this before I sent out my new version of the series.
It bothers me too.

I will try this approach when I prepare the next iteration.

Thanks a lot!

Yours,
Linus Walleij

Powered by blists - more mailing lists