lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 1 May 2020 16:17:54 +0200
From:   Mickaël Salaün <mic@...ikod.net>
To:     James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>
Cc:     linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, Aleksa Sarai <cyphar@...har.com>,
        Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Christian Heimes <christian@...hon.org>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Deven Bowers <deven.desai@...ux.microsoft.com>,
        Eric Chiang <ericchiang@...gle.com>,
        Florian Weimer <fweimer@...hat.com>, Jan Kara <jack@...e.cz>,
        Jann Horn <jannh@...gle.com>, Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Matthew Garrett <mjg59@...gle.com>,
        Matthew Wilcox <willy@...radead.org>,
        Michael Kerrisk <mtk.manpages@...il.com>,
        Mickaël Salaün <mickael.salaun@....gouv.fr>,
        Mimi Zohar <zohar@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Philippe Trébuchet 
        <philippe.trebuchet@....gouv.fr>,
        Scott Shell <scottsh@...rosoft.com>,
        Sean Christopherson <sean.j.christopherson@...el.com>,
        Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>,
        Steve Dower <steve.dower@...hon.org>,
        Steve Grubb <sgrubb@...hat.com>,
        Thibaut Sautereau <thibaut.sautereau@....gouv.fr>,
        Vincent Strubel <vincent.strubel@....gouv.fr>,
        kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com, linux-api@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 2/5] fs: Add a MAY_EXECMOUNT flag to infer the noexec
 mount property


On 01/05/2020 06:02, James Morris wrote:
> On Tue, 28 Apr 2020, Mickaël Salaün wrote:
> 
>> An LSM doesn't get path information related to an access request to open
>> an inode.  This new (internal) MAY_EXECMOUNT flag enables an LSM to
>> check if the underlying mount point of an inode is marked as executable.
>> This is useful to implement a security policy taking advantage of the
>> noexec mount option.
>>
>> This flag is set according to path_noexec(), which checks if a mount
>> point is mounted with MNT_NOEXEC or if the underlying superblock is
>> SB_I_NOEXEC.
>>
>> Signed-off-by: Mickaël Salaün <mic@...ikod.net>
>> Reviewed-by: Philippe Trébuchet <philippe.trebuchet@....gouv.fr>
>> Reviewed-by: Thibaut Sautereau <thibaut.sautereau@....gouv.fr>
>> Cc: Aleksa Sarai <cyphar@...har.com>
>> Cc: Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>
>> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
> 
> Are there any existing LSMs which plan to use this aspect?

This commit message was initially for the first version of O_MAYEXEC,
which extended Yama. The current enforcement implementation is now
directly in the FS subsystem (as requested by Kees Cook). However, this
MAY_EXECMOUNT flag is still used by the current FS implementation and it
could still be useful for LSMs.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists