lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 5 May 2020 15:24:29 -0700
From:   "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...nel.org>
To:     Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>
Cc:     LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, x86@...nel.org,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Alexandre Chartre <alexandre.chartre@...cle.com>,
        Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
        Sean Christopherson <sean.j.christopherson@...el.com>,
        Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
        Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Joel Fernandes <joel@...lfernandes.org>,
        Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
        Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
        Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>,
        Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com>,
        Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
        Will Deacon <will@...nel.org>
Subject: Re: [patch V4 part 3 11/29] rcu: Provide rcu_irq_exit_preempt()

On Wed, May 06, 2020 at 12:05:04AM +0200, Thomas Gleixner wrote:
> "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...nel.org> writes:
> 
> > On Tue, May 05, 2020 at 03:44:05PM +0200, Thomas Gleixner wrote:
> >> Interrupts and exceptions invoke rcu_irq_enter() on entry and need to
> >> invoke rcu_irq_exit() before they either return to the interrupted code or
> >> invoke the scheduler due to preemption.
> >> 
> >> The general assumption is that RCU idle code has to have preemption
> >> disabled so that a return from interrupt cannot schedule. So the return
> >> from interrupt code invokes rcu_irq_exit() and preempt_schedule_irq().
> >> 
> >> If there is any imbalance in the rcu_irq/nmi* invocations or RCU idle code
> >> had preemption enabled then this goes unnoticed until the CPU goes idle or
> >> some other RCU check is executed.
> >> 
> >> Provide rcu_irq_exit_preempt() which can be invoked from the
> >> interrupt/exception return code in case that preemption is enabled. It
> >> invokes rcu_irq_exit() and contains a few sanity checks in case that
> >> CONFIG_PROVE_RCU is enabled to catch such issues directly.
> >> 
> >> Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>
> >> Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...nel.org>
> >> Cc: Joel Fernandes <joel@...lfernandes.org>
> >
> > The ->dynticks_nmi_nesting field is going away at some point, but
> > there is always "git merge".  ;-)
> 
> Yes. The logistics for merging all of this is going to be interesting :)

;-) ;-) ;-)

						Thanx, Paul

Powered by blists - more mailing lists