lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 05 May 2020 15:53:47 +0200
From:   Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>
To:     LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Cc:     x86@...nel.org, "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...nel.org>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Alexandre Chartre <alexandre.chartre@...cle.com>,
        Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
        Sean Christopherson <sean.j.christopherson@...el.com>,
        Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
        Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Joel Fernandes <joel@...lfernandes.org>,
        Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
        Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
        Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>,
        Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com>,
        Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
        Will Deacon <will@...nel.org>
Subject: [patch V4 part 5 06/31] x86/entry/64: Simplify idtentry_body

All C functions which do not have an error code have been converted to the
new IDTENTRY interface which does not expect an error code in the
arguments. Spare the XORL.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>

---
 arch/x86/entry/entry_64.S |    2 --
 1 file changed, 2 deletions(-)

--- a/arch/x86/entry/entry_64.S
+++ b/arch/x86/entry/entry_64.S
@@ -532,8 +532,6 @@ SYM_CODE_END(spurious_entries_start)
 	.if \has_error_code == 1
 		movq	ORIG_RAX(%rsp), %rsi	/* get error code into 2nd argument*/
 		movq	$-1, ORIG_RAX(%rsp)	/* no syscall to restart */
-	.else
-		xorl	%esi, %esi		/* Clear the error code */
 	.endif
 
 	.if \vector == X86_TRAP_PF

Powered by blists - more mailing lists