lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 05 May 2020 15:53:51 +0200
From:   Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>
To:     LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Cc:     x86@...nel.org, "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...nel.org>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Alexandre Chartre <alexandre.chartre@...cle.com>,
        Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
        Sean Christopherson <sean.j.christopherson@...el.com>,
        Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
        Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Joel Fernandes <joel@...lfernandes.org>,
        Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
        Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
        Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>,
        Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com>,
        Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
        Will Deacon <will@...nel.org>
Subject: [patch V4 part 5 10/31] x86/entry: Change exit path of xen_failsafe_callback

xen_failsafe_callback is invoked from XEN for two cases:

  1. Fault while reloading DS, ES, FS or GS
  2. Fault while executing IRET

#1 retries the IRET after XEN has fixed up the segments.
#2 injects a #GP which kills the task

For #1 there is no reason to go through the full exception return path
because the tasks TIF state is still the same. So just going straight to
the IRET path is good enough.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>
Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>
---
 arch/x86/entry/entry_32.S |    2 +-
 arch/x86/entry/entry_64.S |    2 +-
 2 files changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

--- a/arch/x86/entry/entry_32.S
+++ b/arch/x86/entry/entry_32.S
@@ -1352,7 +1352,7 @@ SYM_FUNC_START(xen_failsafe_callback)
 5:	pushl	$-1				/* orig_ax = -1 => not a system call */
 	SAVE_ALL
 	ENCODE_FRAME_POINTER
-	jmp	ret_from_exception
+	jmp	handle_exception_return
 
 .section .fixup, "ax"
 6:	xorl	%eax, %eax
--- a/arch/x86/entry/entry_64.S
+++ b/arch/x86/entry/entry_64.S
@@ -1137,7 +1137,7 @@ SYM_CODE_START(xen_failsafe_callback)
 	pushq	$-1 /* orig_ax = -1 => not a system call */
 	PUSH_AND_CLEAR_REGS
 	ENCODE_FRAME_POINTER
-	jmp	error_exit
+	jmp	error_return
 SYM_CODE_END(xen_failsafe_callback)
 #endif /* CONFIG_XEN_PV */
 

Powered by blists - more mailing lists