lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 6 May 2020 11:59:26 +0000
From:   Schrempf Frieder <frieder.schrempf@...tron.de>
To:     Adam Ford <aford173@...il.com>
CC:     Anson Huang <Anson.Huang@....com>,
        Christian Gmeiner <christian.gmeiner@...il.com>,
        Daniel Baluta <daniel.baluta@....com>,
        "Fabio Estevam" <festevam@...il.com>,
        Leonard Crestez <leonard.crestez@....com>,
        "Li Jun" <jun.li@....com>, Lucas Stach <l.stach@...gutronix.de>,
        NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@....com>,
        Peng Fan <peng.fan@....com>,
        Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@...gutronix.de>,
        Russell King <linux+etnaviv@...linux.org.uk>,
        "Sascha Hauer" <s.hauer@...gutronix.de>,
        Shawn Guo <shawnguo@...nel.org>,
        "S.j. Wang" <shengjiu.wang@....com>,
        "devicetree@...r.kernel.org" <devicetree@...r.kernel.org>,
        "dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org" <dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org>,
        "etnaviv@...ts.freedesktop.org" <etnaviv@...ts.freedesktop.org>,
        "linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org" 
        <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        "linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH 4/4] arm64: dts: imx8mm: Add GPU nodes for 2D and 3D
 core using Etnaviv

On 06.05.20 13:45, Frieder Schrempf wrote:
> On 03.05.20 16:49, Adam Ford wrote:
>> On Thu, Apr 30, 2020 at 7:46 AM Schrempf Frieder
>> <frieder.schrempf@...tron.de> wrote:
>>>
>>> From: Frieder Schrempf <frieder.schrempf@...tron.de>
>>>
>>> According to the documents, the i.MX8M-Mini features a GC320 and a
>>> GCNanoUltra GPU core. Etnaviv detects them as:
>>>
>>>          etnaviv-gpu 38000000.gpu: model: GC600, revision: 4653
>>>          etnaviv-gpu 38008000.gpu: model: GC520, revision: 5341
>>>
>>> This seems to work fine more or less without any changes to the HWDB,
>>> which still might be needed in the future to correct some features,
>>> etc.
>>>
>>> Signed-off-by: Frieder Schrempf <frieder.schrempf@...tron.de>
>>> ---
>> Since not everyone uses the 3D or 2D, would it make sense to mark them
>> as disabled by default and let people who need the 3D and 2D enable
>> them at their respective board files?
> 
> I would rather keep it the way it has been done for other SoCs. Looking 
> at the i.MX6 devicetrees, they all seem to have the GPUs enabled by 
> default.

Ah, I had missed Lucas reply. He already provided much better arguments 
for keeping the GPUs enabled by default.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists