lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 6 May 2020 18:03:07 +0200
From:   Alexandre Chartre <alexandre.chartre@...cle.com>
To:     Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Cc:     x86@...nel.org, "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...nel.org>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
        Sean Christopherson <sean.j.christopherson@...el.com>,
        Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
        Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Joel Fernandes <joel@...lfernandes.org>,
        Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
        Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
        Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>,
        Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com>,
        Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
        Will Deacon <will@...nel.org>,
        "Peter Zijlstra (Intel)" <peterz@...radead.org>
Subject: Re: [patch V4 part 1 19/36] x86/entry: Exclude low level entry code
 from sanitizing


On 5/5/20 3:16 PM, Thomas Gleixner wrote:
> The sanitizers are not really applicable to the fragile low level entry
> code. code. Entry code needs to carefully setup a normal 'runtime'

typo: code. code.

Reviewed-by: Alexandre Chartre <alexandre.chartre@...cle.com>

alex.


> environment.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@...radead.org>
> Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>
> ---
>   arch/x86/entry/Makefile |    8 ++++++++
>   1 file changed, 8 insertions(+)
> 
> --- a/arch/x86/entry/Makefile
> +++ b/arch/x86/entry/Makefile
> @@ -3,6 +3,14 @@
>   # Makefile for the x86 low level entry code
>   #
>   
> +KASAN_SANITIZE := n
> +UBSAN_SANITIZE := n
> +KCOV_INSTRUMENT := n
> +
> +CFLAGS_REMOVE_common.o = $(CC_FLAGS_FTRACE) -fstack-protector -fstack-protector-strong
> +CFLAGS_REMOVE_syscall_32.o = $(CC_FLAGS_FTRACE) -fstack-protector -fstack-protector-strong
> +CFLAGS_REMOVE_syscall_64.o = $(CC_FLAGS_FTRACE) -fstack-protector -fstack-protector-strong
> +
>   OBJECT_FILES_NON_STANDARD_entry_64_compat.o := y
>   
>   CFLAGS_syscall_64.o		+= $(call cc-option,-Wno-override-init,)
> 

Powered by blists - more mailing lists