lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 8 May 2020 14:45:56 +0200
From:   Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>
To:     Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>
Cc:     Alexandre Chartre <alexandre.chartre@...cle.com>,
        LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, x86@...nel.org,
        "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...nel.org>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
        Sean Christopherson <sean.j.christopherson@...el.com>,
        Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
        Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Joel Fernandes <joel@...lfernandes.org>,
        Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
        Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
        Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>,
        Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com>,
        Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
        Will Deacon <will@...nel.org>
Subject: Re: [patch V4 part 4 15/24] x86/db: Split out dr6/7 handling

On Fri, May 08, 2020 at 01:58:30PM +0200, Thomas Gleixner wrote:
> Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org> writes:
> >> > +static __always_inline void debug_enter(unsigned long *dr6, unsigned long *dr7)
> >> > +{
> >> > +	/*
> >> > +	 * Disable breakpoints during exception handling; recursive exceptions
> >> > +	 * are exceedingly 'fun'.
> >> > +	 *
> >> > +	 * Since this function is NOKPROBE, and that also applies to
> >> > +	 * HW_BREAKPOINT_X, we can't hit a breakpoint before this (XXX except a
> >> > +	 * HW_BREAKPOINT_W on our stack)
> >> > +	 *
> >> > +	 * Entry text is excluded for HW_BP_X and cpu_entry_area, which
> >> > +	 * includes the entry stack is excluded for everything.
> >> > +	 */
> >> > +	get_debugreg(*dr7, 6);
> >> 
> >> Do you mean  get_debugreg(*dr7, 7); ?
> >
> > Shees, I have to go buy a new stack of brown paper bags at this rate,
> > don't I :/
> 
> Not only you, but it's also  amazing that the selftests didn't catch
> that.

I don't think the selftests try and set hardware breakpoints in the
kernel.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists