lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 13 May 2020 00:27:41 +0000
From:   Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@...nel.org>
To:     Scott Branden <scott.branden@...adcom.com>,
        Mimi Zohar <zohar@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc:     Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        David Brown <david.brown@...aro.org>,
        Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>, bjorn.andersson@...aro.org,
        Shuah Khan <skhan@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        "Rafael J . Wysocki" <rafael@...nel.org>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-arm-msm@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org,
        BCM Kernel Feedback <bcm-kernel-feedback-list@...adcom.com>,
        Olof Johansson <olof@...om.net>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@...cle.com>,
        Colin Ian King <colin.king@...onical.com>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Takashi Iwai <tiwai@...e.de>, linux-kselftest@...r.kernel.org,
        Andy Gross <agross@...nel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v5 1/7] fs: introduce kernel_pread_file* support

On Thu, May 07, 2020 at 05:27:33PM -0700, Scott Branden wrote:
> diff --git a/fs/exec.c b/fs/exec.c
> index 06b4c550af5d..cfab212fab9d 100644
> --- a/fs/exec.c
> +++ b/fs/exec.c
> @@ -896,10 +896,14 @@ struct file *open_exec(const char *name)
>  }
>  EXPORT_SYMBOL(open_exec);
>  
> -int kernel_read_file(struct file *file, void **buf, loff_t *size,
> -		     loff_t max_size, enum kernel_read_file_id id)
> -{
> -	loff_t i_size, pos;
> +int kernel_pread_file(struct file *file, void **buf, loff_t *size,
> +		      loff_t pos, loff_t max_size, unsigned int flags,

You use int flags, but.. these are mutually exclusive operations, and
so flags is a misnomer. Just use an enum instead of a define, that way
we can use kdoc for documentation.

> +EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(kernel_pread_file);
> +EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(kernel_pread_file_from_path);
> +EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(kernel_pread_file_from_path_initns);
> +EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(kernel_pread_file_from_fd);

If no one is using these don't export them. I think you only use one of
these. In fact just remove the code from the ones which are not used.

  Luis

Powered by blists - more mailing lists