lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sat, 16 May 2020 01:45:55 +0200
From:   Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>
To:     LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Cc:     x86@...nel.org, "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...nel.org>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Alexandre Chartre <alexandre.chartre@...cle.com>,
        Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
        Sean Christopherson <sean.j.christopherson@...el.com>,
        Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
        Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Joel Fernandes <joel@...lfernandes.org>,
        Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
        Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
        Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>,
        Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com>,
        Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
        Will Deacon <will@...nel.org>,
        Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@....com>,
        Wei Liu <wei.liu@...nel.org>,
        Michael Kelley <mikelley@...rosoft.com>,
        Jason Chen CJ <jason.cj.chen@...el.com>,
        Zhao Yakui <yakui.zhao@...el.com>,
        "Peter Zijlstra (Intel)" <peterz@...radead.org>
Subject: [patch V6 08/37] x86/entry/64: Move do_softirq_own_stack() to C


The first step to get rid of the ENTER/LEAVE_IRQ_STACK ASM macro maze.  Use
the new C code helpers to move do_softirq_own_stack() out of ASM code.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>

diff --git a/arch/x86/entry/entry_64.S b/arch/x86/entry/entry_64.S
index 3b8da9f09297..bdf8391b2f95 100644
--- a/arch/x86/entry/entry_64.S
+++ b/arch/x86/entry/entry_64.S
@@ -1145,19 +1145,6 @@ SYM_FUNC_START(asm_call_on_stack)
 	ret
 SYM_FUNC_END(asm_call_on_stack)
 
-/* Call softirq on interrupt stack. Interrupts are off. */
-.pushsection .text, "ax"
-SYM_FUNC_START(do_softirq_own_stack)
-	pushq	%rbp
-	mov	%rsp, %rbp
-	ENTER_IRQ_STACK regs=0 old_rsp=%r11
-	call	__do_softirq
-	LEAVE_IRQ_STACK regs=0
-	leaveq
-	ret
-SYM_FUNC_END(do_softirq_own_stack)
-.popsection
-
 #ifdef CONFIG_XEN_PV
 /*
  * A note on the "critical region" in our callback handler.
diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/irq_64.c b/arch/x86/kernel/irq_64.c
index 12df3a4abfdd..62cff52e03c5 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/irq_64.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/irq_64.c
@@ -20,6 +20,7 @@
 #include <linux/sched/task_stack.h>
 
 #include <asm/cpu_entry_area.h>
+#include <asm/irq_stack.h>
 #include <asm/io_apic.h>
 #include <asm/apic.h>
 
@@ -70,3 +71,11 @@ int irq_init_percpu_irqstack(unsigned int cpu)
 		return 0;
 	return map_irq_stack(cpu);
 }
+
+void do_softirq_own_stack(void)
+{
+	if (irqstack_active())
+		__do_softirq();
+	else
+		run_on_irqstack(__do_softirq, NULL);
+}

Powered by blists - more mailing lists