lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sat, 16 May 2020 19:07:42 -0700
From:   Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>
To:     Dmitry Osipenko <digetx@...il.com>, Jens Axboe <axboe@...nel.dk>,
        Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@...il.com>,
        Jonathan Hunter <jonathanh@...dia.com>,
        Michał Mirosław <mirq-linux@...e.qmqm.pl>,
        David Heidelberg <david@...t.cz>,
        Peter Geis <pgwipeout@...il.com>,
        Stephen Warren <swarren@...dotorg.org>,
        Nicolas Chauvet <kwizart@...il.com>,
        Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org>,
        Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@...el.com>,
        Billy Laws <blaws05@...il.com>,
        Nils Östlund <nils@...tan.com>,
        Christoph Hellwig <hch@...radead.org>,
        Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
        Davidlohr Bueso <dave@...olabs.net>
Cc:     linux-tegra@...r.kernel.org, linux-block@...r.kernel.org,
        Andrey Danin <danindrey@...l.ru>,
        Gilles Grandou <gilles@...ndou.net>,
        Ryan Grachek <ryan@...ted.us>, linux-mmc@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, Steve McIntyre <steve@...val.com>,
        linux-efi <linux-efi@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v5 4/6] partitions/efi: Support GPT entry lookup at a
 non-standard location

On 5/16/20 5:11 PM, Dmitry Osipenko wrote:
> 16.05.2020 19:58, Randy Dunlap пишет:
>> On 5/16/20 9:50 AM, Dmitry Osipenko wrote:
>>> 16.05.2020 18:51, Randy Dunlap пишет:
>>>> On 5/16/20 8:36 AM, Dmitry Osipenko wrote:
>>>>> diff --git a/block/partitions/efi.c b/block/partitions/efi.c
>>>>> index b64bfdd4326c..3af4660bc11f 100644
>>>>> --- a/block/partitions/efi.c
>>>>> +++ b/block/partitions/efi.c
>>>>> @@ -621,6 +621,14 @@ static int find_valid_gpt(struct parsed_partitions *state, gpt_header **gpt,
>>>>>          if (!good_agpt && force_gpt)
>>>>>                  good_agpt = is_gpt_valid(state, lastlba, &agpt, &aptes);
>>>>>  
>>>>> +	/* The force_gpt_sector is used by NVIDIA Tegra partition parser in
>>>>> +	 * order to convey a non-standard location of the GPT entry for lookup.
>>>>> +	 * By default force_gpt_sector is set to 0 and has no effect.
>>>>> +	 */
>>>>
>>>> Please fix the multi-line comment format as described in
>>>> Documentation/process/coding-style.rst.
>>>>
>>>>> +	if (!good_agpt && force_gpt && state->force_gpt_sector)
>>>>> +		good_agpt = is_gpt_valid(state, state->force_gpt_sector,
>>>>> +					 &agpt, &aptes);
>>>>> +
>>>>>          /* The obviously unsuccessful case */
>>>>>          if (!good_pgpt && !good_agpt)
>>>>>                  goto fail;
>>>>
>>>> thanks.
>>>>
>>>
>>> Hello Randy,
>>>
>>> I know that it's not a proper kernel-style formatting, but that's the
>>> style used by the whole efi.c source code and I wanted to maintain the
>>> same style, for consistency. Of course I can change to a proper style if
>>> it's more desirable than the consistency. Thank you for the comment!
>>>
>>
>> too bad. Sorry to hear that.
>> It should have been "fixed" much earlier.
>> It's probably too late now.
> 
> Actually, I now see that there is a mix of different comment styles in
> the efi.c code. So it should be fine to use the proper style, I'll
> change it in v6.
> 
> I don't think it's too late, it's never late to make a correction :)
> There are some other coding style problems in the efi.c that won't hurt
> to fix, I may take a look at fixing them later on.
> 

OK, great. Thanks.

-- 
~Randy

Powered by blists - more mailing lists