lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 18 May 2020 10:31:57 +0200
From:   Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@....com>
To:     Qais Yousef <qais.yousef@....com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>
Cc:     Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@...hat.com>,
        Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@...aro.org>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Ben Segall <bsegall@...gle.com>, Mel Gorman <mgorman@...e.de>,
        Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@...nel.org>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Iurii Zaikin <yzaikin@...gle.com>,
        Quentin Perret <qperret@...gle.com>,
        Valentin Schneider <valentin.schneider@....com>,
        Patrick Bellasi <patrick.bellasi@...bug.net>,
        Pavan Kondeti <pkondeti@...eaurora.org>,
        linux-doc@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/2] sched/uclamp: Add a new sysctl to control RT default
 boost value

On 11/05/2020 17:40, Qais Yousef wrote:

[..]

> @@ -790,6 +790,26 @@ unsigned int sysctl_sched_uclamp_util_min = SCHED_CAPACITY_SCALE;
>  /* Max allowed maximum utilization */
>  unsigned int sysctl_sched_uclamp_util_max = SCHED_CAPACITY_SCALE;
>  
> +/*
> + * By default RT tasks run at the maximum performance point/capacity of the
> + * system. Uclamp enforces this by always setting UCLAMP_MIN of RT tasks to
> + * SCHED_CAPACITY_SCALE.
> + *
> + * This knob allows admins to change the default behavior when uclamp is being
> + * used. In battery powered devices, particularly, running at the maximum
> + * capacity and frequency will increase energy consumption and shorten the
> + * battery life.
> + *
> + * This knob only affects RT tasks that their uclamp_se->user_defined == false.

Nit pick: Isn't there a verb missing in this sentence?

[...]

> @@ -1114,12 +1161,13 @@ int sysctl_sched_uclamp_handler(struct ctl_table *table, int write,
>  				loff_t *ppos)
>  {
>  	bool update_root_tg = false;
> -	int old_min, old_max;
> +	int old_min, old_max, old_min_rt;

Nit pick: Order local variable declarations according to length.

[...]

> @@ -1128,7 +1176,9 @@ int sysctl_sched_uclamp_handler(struct ctl_table *table, int write,
>  		goto done;
>  
>  	if (sysctl_sched_uclamp_util_min > sysctl_sched_uclamp_util_max ||
> -	    sysctl_sched_uclamp_util_max > SCHED_CAPACITY_SCALE) {
> +	    sysctl_sched_uclamp_util_max > SCHED_CAPACITY_SCALE		||

Nit pick: This extra space looks weird to me.

[...]

Apart from that, LGTM

For both patches of this v5:

Reviewed-by: Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@....com>

Powered by blists - more mailing lists