lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 19 May 2020 22:40:01 -0300
From:   Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <arnaldo.melo@...il.com>
To:     Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@...el.com>
Cc:     Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
        "H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, x86@...nel.org,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@...aro.org>,
        Leo Yan <leo.yan@...aro.org>, Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH V7 00/15] perf/x86: Add perf text poke events

Em Sun, May 17, 2020 at 04:16:50PM +0300, Adrian Hunter escreveu:
> On 12/05/20 3:19 pm, Adrian Hunter wrote:
> > Hi
> > 
> > Here are patches to add a text poke event to record changes to kernel text
> > (i.e. self-modifying code) in order to support tracers like Intel PT
> > decoding through jump labels, kprobes and ftrace trampolines.
> > 
> > The first 8 patches make the kernel changes and the subsequent patches are
> > tools changes.
> > 
> > The next 4 patches add support for updating perf tools' data cache
> > with the changed bytes.
> > 
> > The next patch is an Intel PT specific tools change.
> > 
> > The final 2 patches add perf script --show-text-poke-events option
> > 
> > Patches also here:
> > 
> > 	git://git.infradead.org/users/ahunter/linux-perf.git text_poke
> > 
> > Changes in V7
> > 
> >   perf: Add perf text poke event
> >   perf/x86: Add support for perf text poke event for text_poke_bp_batch() callers
> >   kprobes: Add symbols for kprobe insn pages
> >   kprobes: Add perf ksymbol events for kprobe insn pages
> >   perf/x86: Add perf text poke events for kprobes
> >   ftrace: Add symbols for ftrace trampolines
> >   ftrace: Add perf ksymbol events for ftrace trampolines
> >   ftrace: Add perf text poke events for ftrace trampolines
> > 
> > 	Added Peter's Ack
> > 	Improved commit message for text_poke events for ftrace trampolines
> > 
> >   perf kcore_copy: Fix module map when there are no modules loaded
> >   perf evlist: Disable 'immediate' events last
> >   perf tools: Add support for PERF_RECORD_TEXT_POKE
> >   perf tools: Add support for PERF_RECORD_KSYMBOL_TYPE_OOL
> >   perf intel-pt: Add support for text poke events
> >   perf script: Add option --show-text-poke-events
> >   perf script: Show text poke address symbol
> > 
> > 	Re-based on Arnaldo's perf/core branch
> > 
> 
> Arnaldo, any comments on the tools patches?

I couldn't get to this yet, sorry, but from a quick look I saw just the
ordering of some args to perf_event__ functions, and I can quickly fix
it.

PeterZ, from what we discussed for the next merge Window, perhaps we
should route the kernel bits via the tip tree while I will push the
tooling bits on my 5.8 merge request to Linus, Ok?

- Arnaldo

Powered by blists - more mailing lists