lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 21 May 2020 22:05:21 +0200
From:   Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>
To:     LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Cc:     Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Andrew Cooper <andrew.cooper3@...rix.com>,
        X86 ML <x86@...nel.org>,
        "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...nel.org>,
        Alexandre Chartre <alexandre.chartre@...cle.com>,
        Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
        Sean Christopherson <sean.j.christopherson@...el.com>,
        Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
        Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Joel Fernandes <joel@...lfernandes.org>,
        Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
        Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
        Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>,
        Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com>,
        Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
        Will Deacon <will@...nel.org>,
        Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@....com>,
        Wei Liu <wei.liu@...nel.org>,
        Michael Kelley <mikelley@...rosoft.com>,
        Jason Chen CJ <jason.cj.chen@...el.com>,
        Zhao Yakui <yakui.zhao@...el.com>,
        "Peter Zijlstra (Intel)" <peterz@...radead.org>
Subject: [patch V9 08/39] genirq: Provide irq_enter/exit_rcu()

From: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>

irq_enter()/exit() include the RCU handling. To properly separate the RCU
handling provide variants which contain only the non-RCU related
functionality.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>
Reviewed-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>
---
 include/linux/hardirq.h |   13 +++++++++++--
 kernel/softirq.c        |   35 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++--------
 2 files changed, 38 insertions(+), 10 deletions(-)

--- a/include/linux/hardirq.h
+++ b/include/linux/hardirq.h
@@ -52,7 +52,11 @@ static __always_inline void rcu_irq_ente
 /*
  * Enter irq context (on NO_HZ, update jiffies):
  */
-extern void irq_enter(void);
+void irq_enter(void);
+/*
+ * Like irq_enter(), but RCU is already watching.
+ */
+void irq_enter_rcu(void);
 
 /*
  * Exit irq context without processing softirqs:
@@ -67,7 +71,12 @@ extern void irq_enter(void);
 /*
  * Exit irq context and process softirqs if needed:
  */
-extern void irq_exit(void);
+void irq_exit(void);
+
+/*
+ * Like irq_exit(), but return with RCU watching.
+ */
+void irq_exit_rcu(void);
 
 #ifndef arch_nmi_enter
 #define arch_nmi_enter()	do { } while (0)
--- a/kernel/softirq.c
+++ b/kernel/softirq.c
@@ -339,12 +339,11 @@ asmlinkage __visible void do_softirq(voi
 	local_irq_restore(flags);
 }
 
-/*
- * Enter an interrupt context.
+/**
+ * irq_enter_rcu - Enter an interrupt context with RCU watching
  */
-void irq_enter(void)
+void irq_enter_rcu(void)
 {
-	rcu_irq_enter();
 	if (is_idle_task(current) && !in_interrupt()) {
 		/*
 		 * Prevent raise_softirq from needlessly waking up ksoftirqd
@@ -354,10 +353,18 @@ void irq_enter(void)
 		tick_irq_enter();
 		_local_bh_enable();
 	}
-
 	__irq_enter();
 }
 
+/**
+ * irq_enter - Enter an interrupt context including RCU update
+ */
+void irq_enter(void)
+{
+	rcu_irq_enter();
+	irq_enter_rcu();
+}
+
 static inline void invoke_softirq(void)
 {
 	if (ksoftirqd_running(local_softirq_pending()))
@@ -397,10 +404,12 @@ static inline void tick_irq_exit(void)
 #endif
 }
 
-/*
- * Exit an interrupt context. Process softirqs if needed and possible:
+/**
+ * irq_exit_rcu() - Exit an interrupt context without updating RCU
+ *
+ * Also processes softirqs if needed and possible.
  */
-void irq_exit(void)
+void irq_exit_rcu(void)
 {
 #ifndef __ARCH_IRQ_EXIT_IRQS_DISABLED
 	local_irq_disable();
@@ -413,6 +422,16 @@ void irq_exit(void)
 		invoke_softirq();
 
 	tick_irq_exit();
+}
+
+/**
+ * irq_exit - Exit an interrupt context, update RCU and lockdep
+ *
+ * Also processes softirqs if needed and possible.
+ */
+void irq_exit(void)
+{
+	irq_exit_rcu();
 	rcu_irq_exit();
 	 /* must be last! */
 	lockdep_hardirq_exit();

Powered by blists - more mailing lists