lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 21 May 2020 14:17:17 -0700
From:   Yu-cheng Yu <yu-cheng.yu@...el.com>
To:     x86@...nel.org, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-doc@...r.kernel.org, linux-mm@...ck.org,
        linux-arch@...r.kernel.org, linux-api@...r.kernel.org,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Balbir Singh <bsingharora@...il.com>,
        Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
        Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@...il.com>,
        Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Eugene Syromiatnikov <esyr@...hat.com>,
        Florian Weimer <fweimer@...hat.com>,
        "H.J. Lu" <hjl.tools@...il.com>, Jann Horn <jannh@...gle.com>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@...cle.com>,
        Nadav Amit <nadav.amit@...il.com>,
        Oleg Nesterov <oleg@...hat.com>, Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>,
        "Ravi V. Shankar" <ravi.v.shankar@...el.com>,
        Vedvyas Shanbhogue <vedvyas.shanbhogue@...el.com>,
        Dave Martin <Dave.Martin@....com>,
        Weijiang Yang <weijiang.yang@...el.com>
Cc:     Yu-cheng Yu <yu-cheng.yu@...el.com>
Subject: [RFC PATCH 2/5] selftest/x86: Enable CET for selftests/x86

To build CET-enabled applications, GCC needs to support '-fcf-protection'.
Update x86 selftest makefile to detect and enable CET for x86 selftest
applications.

Signed-off-by: Yu-cheng Yu <yu-cheng.yu@...el.com>
---
 tools/testing/selftests/x86/Makefile | 5 +++++
 1 file changed, 5 insertions(+)

diff --git a/tools/testing/selftests/x86/Makefile b/tools/testing/selftests/x86/Makefile
index 5d49bfec1e9a..f1bf5ab87160 100644
--- a/tools/testing/selftests/x86/Makefile
+++ b/tools/testing/selftests/x86/Makefile
@@ -9,6 +9,7 @@ UNAME_M := $(shell uname -m)
 CAN_BUILD_I386 := $(shell ./check_cc.sh $(CC) trivial_32bit_program.c -m32)
 CAN_BUILD_X86_64 := $(shell ./check_cc.sh $(CC) trivial_64bit_program.c)
 CAN_BUILD_WITH_NOPIE := $(shell ./check_cc.sh $(CC) trivial_program.c -no-pie)
+CAN_BUILD_CET := $(shell ./check_cc.sh $(CC) trivial_program.c -fcf-protection)
 
 TARGETS_C_BOTHBITS := single_step_syscall sysret_ss_attrs syscall_nt test_mremap_vdso \
 			check_initial_reg_state sigreturn iopl ioperm \
@@ -35,6 +36,10 @@ BINARIES_64 := $(patsubst %,$(OUTPUT)/%,$(BINARIES_64))
 
 CFLAGS := -O2 -g -std=gnu99 -pthread -Wall
 
+ifeq ($(CAN_BUILD_CET),1)
+CFLAGS += -fcf-protection -mshstk
+endif
+
 # call32_from_64 in thunks.S uses absolute addresses.
 ifeq ($(CAN_BUILD_WITH_NOPIE),1)
 CFLAGS += -no-pie
-- 
2.21.0

Powered by blists - more mailing lists