lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 21 May 2020 10:31:11 +0200
From:   Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>
To:     paulmck@...nel.org
Cc:     Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, X86 ML <x86@...nel.org>,
        Alexandre Chartre <alexandre.chartre@...cle.com>,
        Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
        Sean Christopherson <sean.j.christopherson@...el.com>,
        Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
        Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Joel Fernandes <joel@...lfernandes.org>,
        Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
        Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
        Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>,
        Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com>,
        Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
        Will Deacon <will@...nel.org>,
        Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@....com>,
        Wei Liu <wei.liu@...nel.org>,
        Michael Kelley <mikelley@...rosoft.com>,
        Jason Chen CJ <jason.cj.chen@...el.com>,
        Zhao Yakui <yakui.zhao@...el.com>,
        "Peter Zijlstra \(Intel\)" <peterz@...radead.org>
Subject: Re: [patch V6 12/37] x86/entry: Provide idtentry_entry/exit_cond_rcu()

"Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...nel.org> writes:
> On Wed, May 20, 2020 at 03:15:31PM -0700, Paul E. McKenney wrote:
> Same patch, but with updated commit log based on IRC discussion
> with Andy.

Fun. I came up with the same thing before going to bed. Just that I
named the function differently: rcu_irq_enter_check_tick()

>  #if defined(CONFIG_TINY_RCU)
>  
> +static inline void tickle_nohz_for_rcu(void)
> +{
> +}
> +
>  static inline void rcu_nmi_enter(void)
>  {
>  }
> @@ -23,6 +27,7 @@ static inline void rcu_nmi_exit(void)
>  }
>  
>  #else
> +extern void tickle_nohz_for_rcu(void);

And I made this a NOP for for !NOHZ_FULL systems and avoided the call if
context tracking is not enabled at boot.

void __rcu_irq_enter_check_tick(void);

static inline void rcu_irq_enter_check_tick(void)
{
	if (context_tracking_enabled())
        	__rcu_irq_enter_check_tick();
}

Thanks,

        tglx

Powered by blists - more mailing lists