lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 11 Jun 2020 17:13:45 -0700
From:   John Stultz <john.stultz@...aro.org>
To:     Takashi Iwai <tiwai@...e.de>,
        Pierre-Louis Bossart <pierre-louis.bossart@...ux.intel.com>
Cc:     Mark Brown <broonie@...nel.org>,
        Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@...il.com>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Bard Liao <yung-chuan.liao@...ux.intel.com>,
        Guennadi Liakhovetski <guennadi.liakhovetski@...ux.intel.com>,
        Srini Kandagatla <srinivas.kandagatla@...aro.org>,
        Vinod Koul <vinod.koul@...aro.org>,
        Amit Pundir <amit.pundir@...aro.org>
Subject: Re: [GIT PULL] sound fixes for 5.8-rc1

On Thu, Jun 11, 2020 at 6:39 AM Takashi Iwai <tiwai@...e.de> wrote:
> sound fixes for 5.8-rc1
>
> Here are last-minute fixes gathered before merge window close;
> a few fixes are for the core while the rest majority are driver
> fixes.
>
> * PCM locking annotation fixes and the possible self-lock fix
> * ASoC DPCM regression fixes with multi-CPU DAI

Just as a heads up, we just recently got HDMI audio working on the
Dragonboard 845c (Vinod has patches he's sending out here in the next
few days), but they suddenly stopped working today with the following
error:
[   13.110725] msm-snd-sdm845 soc@0:sound: snd-soc-dummy-dai <->
MultiMedia1 mapping ok
[   13.119343] msm-snd-sdm845 soc@0:sound: snd-soc-dummy-dai <->
MultiMedia2 mapping ok
[   13.127969] msm-snd-sdm845 soc@0:sound: snd-soc-dummy-dai <->
MultiMedia3 mapping ok
[   13.135891] msm-snd-sdm845 soc@0:sound: Compress ASoC:
snd-soc-dummy-dai <-> MultiMedia4 mapping ok
[   13.145042] msm-snd-sdm845 soc@0:sound: CPU DAI QUAT_MI2S_RX for
rtd HDMI Playback does not support capture
[   13.154873] msm-snd-sdm845 soc@0:sound: ASoC: can't create pcm HDMI
Playback :-22
[   13.165634] snd-malloc: invalid device type 0
[   13.170057] snd-malloc: invalid device type 0
[   13.174888] msm-snd-sdm845 soc@0:sound: Sound card registration failed
[   13.181574] msm-snd-sdm845: probe of soc@0:sound failed with error -22

 I've bisected it down to the following commit from this pull req:
  https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux.git/commit/?id=b73287f0b0745961b14e5ebcce92cc8ed24d4d52

Without this patch:
[   13.056906] msm-snd-sdm845 soc@0:sound: snd-soc-dummy-dai <->
MultiMedia1 mapping ok
[   13.075465] msm-snd-sdm845 soc@0:sound: snd-soc-dummy-dai <->
MultiMedia2 mapping ok
[   13.092949] msm-snd-sdm845 soc@0:sound: snd-soc-dummy-dai <->
MultiMedia3 mapping ok
[   13.109704] msm-snd-sdm845 soc@0:sound: Compress ASoC:
snd-soc-dummy-dai <-> MultiMedia4 mapping ok
[   13.125584] msm-snd-sdm845 soc@0:sound: i2s-hifi <-> QUAT_MI2S_RX mapping ok
[   13.125621] msm-snd-sdm845 soc@0:sound: multicodec <-> SLIMBUS_0_RX
mapping ok
[   13.141682] msm-snd-sdm845 soc@0:sound: wcd934x_tx1 <->
SLIMBUS_0_TX mapping ok
...

I've not managed to dig in with much analysis yet (possibly something
off with the current patches we have), but wanted to raise the issue
in case others start to see it too.

thanks
-john

Powered by blists - more mailing lists