lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 16 Jun 2020 23:04:48 -0700
From:   Scott Branden <scott.branden@...adcom.com>
To:     Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>
Cc:     Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>,
        Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@...nel.org>,
        Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        Eric Biederman <ebiederm@...ssion.com>,
        Jessica Yu <jeyu@...nel.org>,
        BCM Kernel Feedback <bcm-kernel-feedback-list@...adcom.com>,
        "Rafael J . Wysocki" <rafael@...nel.org>,
        James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>,
        "Serge E . Hallyn" <serge@...lyn.com>,
        Mimi Zohar <zohar@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Dmitry Kasatkin <dmitry.kasatkin@...il.com>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Paul Moore <paul@...l-moore.com>,
        Stephen Smalley <stephen.smalley.work@...il.com>,
        Eric Paris <eparis@...isplace.org>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org,
        kexec@...ts.infradead.org, linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-integrity@...r.kernel.org, selinux@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH] fs: move kernel_read_file* to its own include file

Hi Greg,

On 2020-06-16 10:26 p.m., Greg Kroah-Hartman wrote:
> On Tue, Jun 16, 2020 at 08:31:52PM -0700, Scott Branden wrote:
>> Move kernel_read_file* to it own kernel_read_file.h include file.
> That says what you did, but not _why_ you are doing it :(
>
I have no real opinion as to where these functions end up.
I simply wish to add kernel_pread_file* support and current comment is 
the existing kernel_read_file* functions
are in linux/fs.h and I shouldn't add more to that file.

I'd be quite happy to leave them in linux/fs.h if that is desired as well.

I can update the commit according to Christoph's comment:

"Can you also move kernel_read_* out of fs.h?  That header gets pulled
in just about everywhere and doesn't really need function not related
to the general fs interface."






Powered by blists - more mailing lists