lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sun, 5 Jul 2020 13:24:14 +0800
From:   Leo Yan <leo.yan@...aro.org>
To:     "liwei (GF)" <liwei391@...wei.com>
Cc:     Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@...aro.org>,
        Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@....com>,
        Mike Leach <mike.leach@...aro.org>,
        Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com>,
        Namhyung Kim <namhyung@...nel.org>,
        Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@....com>,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 2/2] perf tools: Fix record failure when mixed with ARM
 SPE event

On Fri, Jul 03, 2020 at 12:06:15PM +0800, liwei (GF) wrote:

[...]

Thanks for Mathieu's looping and agreed with his comments.

> > Last but not least do you know where the memory allocated for array arm_spe_pmus
> > is released?  If you can't find it either then we have a memory leak and it
> > would be nice to have that fixed.
>
> Yes, we have a memory leak here indeed, i forgot to free it in this function.
> As 'arm_spe_pmus' is defined as static, i think the author meant to assign it only at the first call,
> but this function is only called once when we executing 'record', should i go on fixing it
> or just drop the patch 1?

I personally think patch 1 is reasonable.  So for fixing memory leak,
I did a quick check, it's good to release the array "arm_spe_pmus" in
the function auxtrace_record__init(), since the array is only used in
this function.

Thanks,
Leo

Powered by blists - more mailing lists