lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 6 Aug 2020 14:16:33 -0700
From:   Saravana Kannan <saravanak@...gle.com>
To:     Marc Zyngier <maz@...nel.org>
Cc:     John Stultz <john.stultz@...aro.org>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Jason Cooper <jason@...edaemon.net>,
        Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@...il.com>,
        Andy Gross <agross@...nel.org>,
        Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@...aro.org>,
        Android Kernel Team <kernel-team@...roid.com>,
        lkml <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux-arm-kernel <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        "moderated list:ARM/Mediatek SoC support" 
        <linux-mediatek@...ts.infradead.org>,
        linux-arm-msm <linux-arm-msm@...r.kernel.org>,
        Hanks Chen <hanks.chen@...iatek.com>,
        CC Hwang <cc.hwang@...iatek.com>,
        Loda Chou <loda.chou@...iatek.com>,
        Steev Klimaszewski <steev@...i.org>,
        Nial Peters <uceenpe@....ac.uk>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 2/4] irqchip/qcom-pdc: Switch to using
 IRQCHIP_PLATFORM_DRIVER helper macros

On Thu, Aug 6, 2020 at 1:31 PM Marc Zyngier <maz@...nel.org> wrote:
>
> On 2020-08-06 21:09, John Stultz wrote:
> > On Thu, Aug 6, 2020 at 12:59 PM Marc Zyngier <maz@...nel.org> wrote:
> >> OK, thanks for confirming. It would have been good if these patches
> >> had seen a bit more testing.
> >
> > Yes, again, my apologies for that!
>
> I would say this should be the job of the patch author, before
> anyone else. Yes, silly bugs happen. In this occurrence, it
> could have been avoided by just boot-testing it, though.

Sorry about this. I don't have a DB 845c to test this one. I generally
work with John or try and backport changes to devices I have that are
running older 4.xx kernels. This one seemed harmless/simple enough
that I didn't think I needed to go through all that. But obviously the
few times you don't test is when things fail :-(

-Saravana

Powered by blists - more mailing lists