lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 6 Aug 2020 20:12:56 -0700
From:   Saravana Kannan <saravanak@...gle.com>
To:     John Stultz <john.stultz@...aro.org>
Cc:     Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@...aro.org>,
        Steev Klimaszewski <steev@...i.org>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Jason Cooper <jason@...edaemon.net>,
        Marc Zyngier <maz@...nel.org>,
        Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@...il.com>,
        Andy Gross <agross@...nel.org>,
        Android Kernel Team <kernel-team@...roid.com>,
        lkml <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux-arm-kernel <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        "moderated list:ARM/Mediatek SoC support" 
        <linux-mediatek@...ts.infradead.org>,
        linux-arm-msm <linux-arm-msm@...r.kernel.org>,
        Hanks Chen <hanks.chen@...iatek.com>,
        CC Hwang <cc.hwang@...iatek.com>,
        Loda Chou <loda.chou@...iatek.com>,
        Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@...il.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 2/4] irqchip/qcom-pdc: Switch to using
 IRQCHIP_PLATFORM_DRIVER helper macros

On Thu, Aug 6, 2020 at 8:09 PM John Stultz <john.stultz@...aro.org> wrote:
>
> On Thu, Aug 6, 2020 at 8:02 PM Saravana Kannan <saravanak@...gle.com> wrote:
> > On Thu, Aug 6, 2020 at 7:49 PM John Stultz <john.stultz@...aro.org> wrote:
> > > On Thu, Aug 6, 2020 at 6:42 PM Bjorn Andersson
> > > <bjorn.andersson@...aro.org> wrote:
> > > > With all due respect, that's your downstream kernel, the upstream kernel
> > > > should not rely on luck, out-of-tree patches or kernel parameters.
> > >
> > > I agree that would be preferred. But kernel parameters are often there
> > > for these sorts of cases where we can't always do the right thing.  As
> > > for out-of-tree patches, broken things don't get fixed until
> > > out-of-tree patches are developed and upstreamed, and I know Saravana
> > > is doing exactly that, and I hope his fw_devlink work helps fix it so
> > > the module loading is not just a matter of luck.
> >
> > Btw, the only downstream fw_devlink change is setting itto =on (vs
> > =permissive in upstream).
>
> I thought there was the clk_sync_state stuff as well?

That's not needed to solve the module load ordering issues and
deferred probe issues. That's only needed to keep clocks on till some
of the modules are loaded and it depends on fw_devlink, but not really
a part of fw_devlink IMHO. And yes, that's on my list of things to
upstream.

> > > Also I think Thierry's comments in the other thread today are also
> > > good ideas for ways to better handle the optional dt link handling
> > > (rather than using a timeout).
> >
> > Could you please give me a lore link to this thread? Just curious.
>
> Sure: https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20200806135251.GB3351349@ulmo/

Thanks.

-Saravana

Powered by blists - more mailing lists