lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 12 Aug 2020 14:06:25 +0100
From:   David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>
To:     Miklos Szeredi <miklos@...redi.hu>
Cc:     dhowells@...hat.com, Karel Zak <kzak@...hat.com>,
        Steven Whitehouse <swhiteho@...hat.com>,
        Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
        linux-fsdevel <linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        Jeff Layton <jlayton@...hat.com>,
        Miklos Szeredi <mszeredi@...hat.com>,
        Nicolas Dichtel <nicolas.dichtel@...nd.com>,
        Christian Brauner <christian@...uner.io>,
        Lennart Poettering <lennart@...ttering.net>,
        Linux API <linux-api@...r.kernel.org>,
        Ian Kent <raven@...maw.net>,
        LSM <linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: file metadata via fs API

Miklos Szeredi <miklos@...redi.hu> wrote:

> That presumably means the mount ID <-> mount path mapping already
> exists, which means it's just possible to use the open(mount_path,
> O_PATH) to obtain the base fd.

No, you can't.  A path more correspond to multiple mounts stacked on top of
each other, e.g.:

	mount -t tmpfs none /mnt
	mount -t tmpfs none /mnt
	mount -t tmpfs none /mnt

Now you have three co-located mounts and you can't use the path to
differentiate them.  I think this might be an issue in autofs, but Ian would
need to comment on that.

David

Powered by blists - more mailing lists