lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 14 Aug 2020 10:36:23 -0300
From:   Ezequiel Garcia <ezequiel@...labora.com>
To:     linux-media@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     Tomasz Figa <tfiga@...omium.org>, kernel@...labora.com,
        Jonas Karlman <jonas@...boo.se>,
        Hans Verkuil <hverkuil@...all.nl>,
        Alexandre Courbot <acourbot@...omium.org>,
        Jeffrey Kardatzke <jkardatzke@...omium.org>,
        Nicolas Dufresne <nicolas.dufresne@...labora.com>,
        Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@...gutronix.de>,
        Maxime Ripard <mripard@...nel.org>,
        Paul Kocialkowski <paul.kocialkowski@...tlin.com>,
        Jernej Skrabec <jernej.skrabec@...l.net>,
        Ezequiel Garcia <ezequiel@...labora.com>
Subject: [PATCH v3 08/19] media: uapi: h264: Drop SLICE_PARAMS 'size' field

The SLICE_PARAMS control is intended for slice-based
devices. In this mode, the OUTPUT buffer contains
a single slice, and so the buffer's plane payload size
can be used to query the slice size.

To reduce the API surface drop the size from the
SLICE_PARAMS control.

A follow-up change will remove other members in SLICE_PARAMS
so we don't need to add padding fields here.

Signed-off-by: Ezequiel Garcia <ezequiel@...labora.com>
---
 Documentation/userspace-api/media/v4l/ext-ctrls-codec.rst | 3 ---
 drivers/staging/media/sunxi/cedrus/cedrus_h264.c          | 7 +++----
 include/media/h264-ctrls.h                                | 3 ---
 3 files changed, 3 insertions(+), 10 deletions(-)

diff --git a/Documentation/userspace-api/media/v4l/ext-ctrls-codec.rst b/Documentation/userspace-api/media/v4l/ext-ctrls-codec.rst
index c0ae7fda803e..e88c207d945b 100644
--- a/Documentation/userspace-api/media/v4l/ext-ctrls-codec.rst
+++ b/Documentation/userspace-api/media/v4l/ext-ctrls-codec.rst
@@ -1760,9 +1760,6 @@ enum v4l2_mpeg_video_h264_hierarchical_coding_type -
     :stub-columns: 0
     :widths:       1 1 2
 
-    * - __u32
-      - ``size``
-      -
     * - __u32
       - ``start_byte_offset``
         Offset (in bytes) from the beginning of the OUTPUT buffer to the start
diff --git a/drivers/staging/media/sunxi/cedrus/cedrus_h264.c b/drivers/staging/media/sunxi/cedrus/cedrus_h264.c
index d5636dbbb622..7d9bd5860a1b 100644
--- a/drivers/staging/media/sunxi/cedrus/cedrus_h264.c
+++ b/drivers/staging/media/sunxi/cedrus/cedrus_h264.c
@@ -324,17 +324,16 @@ static void cedrus_set_params(struct cedrus_ctx *ctx,
 	struct vb2_buffer *src_buf = &run->src->vb2_buf;
 	struct cedrus_dev *dev = ctx->dev;
 	dma_addr_t src_buf_addr;
-	u32 len = slice->size * 8;
+	size_t slice_bytes = vb2_get_plane_payload(src_buf, 0);
 	unsigned int pic_width_in_mbs;
 	bool mbaff_pic;
 	u32 reg;
 
-	cedrus_write(dev, VE_H264_VLD_LEN, len);
+	cedrus_write(dev, VE_H264_VLD_LEN, slice_bytes * 8);
 	cedrus_write(dev, VE_H264_VLD_OFFSET, 0);
 
 	src_buf_addr = vb2_dma_contig_plane_dma_addr(src_buf, 0);
-	cedrus_write(dev, VE_H264_VLD_END,
-		     src_buf_addr + vb2_get_plane_payload(src_buf, 0));
+	cedrus_write(dev, VE_H264_VLD_END, src_buf_addr + slice_bytes);
 	cedrus_write(dev, VE_H264_VLD_ADDR,
 		     VE_H264_VLD_ADDR_VAL(src_buf_addr) |
 		     VE_H264_VLD_ADDR_FIRST | VE_H264_VLD_ADDR_VALID |
diff --git a/include/media/h264-ctrls.h b/include/media/h264-ctrls.h
index d178d7ad53b6..afcae3052085 100644
--- a/include/media/h264-ctrls.h
+++ b/include/media/h264-ctrls.h
@@ -165,9 +165,6 @@ struct v4l2_h264_reference {
 };
 
 struct v4l2_ctrl_h264_slice_params {
-	/* Size in bytes, including header */
-	__u32 size;
-
 	/* Offset in bytes to the start of slice in the OUTPUT buffer. */
 	__u32 start_byte_offset;
 
-- 
2.27.0

Powered by blists - more mailing lists