lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 14 Aug 2020 19:26:48 +0200
From:   Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@...gle.com>
To:     Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
        Vincenzo Frascino <vincenzo.frascino@....com>,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        kasan-dev@...glegroups.com
Cc:     Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@...tuozzo.com>,
        Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>,
        Marco Elver <elver@...gle.com>,
        Evgenii Stepanov <eugenis@...gle.com>,
        Elena Petrova <lenaptr@...gle.com>,
        Branislav Rankov <Branislav.Rankov@....com>,
        Kevin Brodsky <kevin.brodsky@....com>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, linux-mm@...ck.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@...gle.com>
Subject: [PATCH 06/35] kasan: only build init.c for software modes

This is a preparatory commit for the upcoming addition of a new hardware
tag-based (MTE-based) KASAN mode.

The new mode won't be using shadow memory, so only build init.c that
contains shadow initialization code for software modes.

No functional changes for software modes.

Signed-off-by: Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@...gle.com>
---
 mm/kasan/Makefile | 6 +++---
 mm/kasan/init.c   | 2 +-
 2 files changed, 4 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

diff --git a/mm/kasan/Makefile b/mm/kasan/Makefile
index d532c2587731..b5517de7fc87 100644
--- a/mm/kasan/Makefile
+++ b/mm/kasan/Makefile
@@ -29,6 +29,6 @@ CFLAGS_report.o := $(CC_FLAGS_KASAN_RUNTIME)
 CFLAGS_tags.o := $(CC_FLAGS_KASAN_RUNTIME)
 CFLAGS_tags_report.o := $(CC_FLAGS_KASAN_RUNTIME)
 
-obj-$(CONFIG_KASAN) := common.o init.o report.o
-obj-$(CONFIG_KASAN_GENERIC) += generic.o generic_report.o quarantine.o
-obj-$(CONFIG_KASAN_SW_TAGS) += tags.o tags_report.o
+obj-$(CONFIG_KASAN) := common.o report.o
+obj-$(CONFIG_KASAN_GENERIC) += init.o generic.o generic_report.o quarantine.o
+obj-$(CONFIG_KASAN_SW_TAGS) += init.o tags.o tags_report.o
diff --git a/mm/kasan/init.c b/mm/kasan/init.c
index 754b641c83c7..20f5e1ab8d95 100644
--- a/mm/kasan/init.c
+++ b/mm/kasan/init.c
@@ -1,6 +1,6 @@
 // SPDX-License-Identifier: GPL-2.0
 /*
- * This file contains some kasan initialization code.
+ * This file contains KASAN shadow initialization code.
  *
  * Copyright (c) 2015 Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.
  * Author: Andrey Ryabinin <ryabinin.a.a@...il.com>
-- 
2.28.0.220.ged08abb693-goog

Powered by blists - more mailing lists