lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 14 Aug 2020 19:27:11 +0200
From:   Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@...gle.com>
To:     Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
        Vincenzo Frascino <vincenzo.frascino@....com>,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        kasan-dev@...glegroups.com
Cc:     Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@...tuozzo.com>,
        Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>,
        Marco Elver <elver@...gle.com>,
        Evgenii Stepanov <eugenis@...gle.com>,
        Elena Petrova <lenaptr@...gle.com>,
        Branislav Rankov <Branislav.Rankov@....com>,
        Kevin Brodsky <kevin.brodsky@....com>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, linux-mm@...ck.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@...gle.com>
Subject: [PATCH 29/35] kasan, x86, s390: update undef CONFIG_KASAN

With the intoduction of hardware tag-based KASAN some kernel checks of
this kind:

  ifdef CONFIG_KASAN

will be updated to:

  if defined(CONFIG_KASAN_GENERIC) || defined(CONFIG_KASAN_SW_TAGS)

x86 and s390 use a trick to #undef CONFIG_KASAN for some of the code
that isn't linked with KASAN runtime and shouldn't have any KASAN
annotations.

Also #undef CONFIG_KASAN_GENERIC with CONFIG_KASAN.

Signed-off-by: Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@...gle.com>
---
 arch/s390/boot/string.c         | 1 +
 arch/x86/boot/compressed/misc.h | 1 +
 2 files changed, 2 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/s390/boot/string.c b/arch/s390/boot/string.c
index b11e8108773a..faccb33b462c 100644
--- a/arch/s390/boot/string.c
+++ b/arch/s390/boot/string.c
@@ -3,6 +3,7 @@
 #include <linux/kernel.h>
 #include <linux/errno.h>
 #undef CONFIG_KASAN
+#undef CONFIG_KASAN_GENERIC
 #include "../lib/string.c"
 
 int strncmp(const char *cs, const char *ct, size_t count)
diff --git a/arch/x86/boot/compressed/misc.h b/arch/x86/boot/compressed/misc.h
index 726e264410ff..2ac973983a8e 100644
--- a/arch/x86/boot/compressed/misc.h
+++ b/arch/x86/boot/compressed/misc.h
@@ -12,6 +12,7 @@
 #undef CONFIG_PARAVIRT_XXL
 #undef CONFIG_PARAVIRT_SPINLOCKS
 #undef CONFIG_KASAN
+#undef CONFIG_KASAN_GENERIC
 
 /* cpu_feature_enabled() cannot be used this early */
 #define USE_EARLY_PGTABLE_L5
-- 
2.28.0.220.ged08abb693-goog

Powered by blists - more mailing lists