lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 17 Aug 2020 18:21:07 -0700
From:   Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>
To:     "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@...ssion.com>
Cc:     Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        "<linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org>" <linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org>,
        criu@...nvz.org, bpf <bpf@...r.kernel.org>,
        Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@...ntu.com>,
        Oleg Nesterov <oleg@...hat.com>,
        Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@...il.com>,
        Jann Horn <jann@...jh.net>, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Daniel P. Berrangé <berrange@...hat.com>,
        Jeff Layton <jlayton@...hat.com>,
        Miklos Szeredi <miklos@...redi.hu>,
        Matthew Wilcox <willy@...ian.org>,
        "J. Bruce Fields" <bfields@...ldses.org>,
        Matthew Wilcox <matthew@....cx>,
        Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@....uio.no>,
        Chris Wright <chrisw@...hat.com>,
        Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@...com>,
        Song Liu <songliubraving@...com>, Yonghong Song <yhs@...com>,
        Andrii Nakryiko <andriin@...com>,
        John Fastabend <john.fastabend@...il.com>,
        KP Singh <kpsingh@...omium.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 12/17] proc/fd: In fdinfo seq_show don't use get_files_struct

On Mon, Aug 17, 2020 at 6:13 PM Eric W. Biederman <ebiederm@...ssion.com> wrote:
>
> task_lock is needed to protect task->files.

Hah. Right you are. I found a few cases where we didn't do that, but I
hadn't noticed that they were all of the pattern

        struct task_struct *tsk = current;

so "tsk->files" was safe for that reason..

So never mind.

           Linus

Powered by blists - more mailing lists