lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sat, 31 Oct 2020 16:05:39 +0100
From:   Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@...roup.eu>
To:     Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...nel.org>
Cc:     "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Daniel Bristot de Oliveira <bristot@...hat.com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Paul Mackerras <paulus@...ba.org>,
        Daniel Vetter <daniel@...ll.ch>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Vineet Gupta <vgupta@...opsys.com>,
        Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@...il.com>,
        Nick Hu <nickhu@...estech.com>,
        Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@...ha.franken.de>,
        Michal Simek <monstr@...str.eu>,
        Chris Zankel <chris@...kel.net>,
        Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@....com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Greentime Hu <green.hu@...il.com>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        linuxppc-dev <linuxppc-dev@...ts.ozlabs.org>,
        Paul McKenney <paulmck@...nel.org>,
        Ard Biesheuvel <ardb@...nel.org>,
        "open list:SYNOPSYS ARC ARCHITECTURE" 
        <linux-snps-arc@...ts.infradead.org>, Mel Gorman <mgorman@...e.de>,
        David Airlie <airlied@...ux.ie>,
        Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>, linux-csky@...r.kernel.org,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        the arch/x86 maintainers <x86@...nel.org>,
        Herbert Xu <herbert@...dor.apana.org.au>,
        Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@...aro.org>,
        linux-arch <linux-arch@...r.kernel.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
        Vincent Chen <deanbo422@...il.com>,
        linux-sparc <sparclinux@...r.kernel.org>,
        Matthew Wilcox <willy@...radead.org>,
        Guo Ren <guoren@...nel.org>, Linux-MM <linux-mm@...ck.org>,
        Ben Segall <bsegall@...gle.com>,
        "open list:BROADCOM NVRAM DRIVER" <linux-mips@...r.kernel.org>,
        Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@...utronix.de>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        linux-xtensa@...ux-xtensa.org, Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@...hat.com>,
        Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>
Subject: Re: [patch V2 00/18] mm/highmem: Preemptible variant of kmap_atomic
 & friends


> There are also some users on 10+ year old 32-bit netbooks or
> business laptops, both x86 and Apple G4.
> The longest-lived 32-bit embedded systems with large memory
> (other than Arm) are probably NXP QorIQ P20xx/P40xx used in
> military VME bus systems, and low-end embedded systems based
> on Vortex86.
> I'm less worried about all of these because upstream kernel
> support for ppc32 and x86-32 is already bitrotting and they will
> likely get stuck on the last working kernel before the
> TI/Renesas/NXP Arm systems do.
>

Upstream kernel support for ppc32 is bitrotting, seriously ? What do  
you mean exactly ?

ppc32 is actively supported, with recent addition of support of  
hugepages, kasan, uaccess protection, VMAP stack, etc ...

Christophe


Powered by blists - more mailing lists