lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 20 Nov 2020 12:19:31 -0800
From:   Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>
To:     Ard Biesheuvel <ardb@...nel.org>
Cc:     Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@...gle.com>,
        Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@...nel.org>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Will Deacon <will@...nel.org>,
        Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...nel.org>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        clang-built-linux <clang-built-linux@...glegroups.com>,
        Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>,
        linux-arch <linux-arch@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        Linux Kbuild mailing list <linux-kbuild@...r.kernel.org>,
        LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        PCI <linux-pci@...r.kernel.org>,
        Alistair Delva <adelva@...gle.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v7 00/17] Add support for Clang LTO

On Fri, Nov 20, 2020 at 2:30 AM Ard Biesheuvel <ardb@...nel.org> wrote:
>
> On Thu, 19 Nov 2020 at 00:42, Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com> wrote:
> >
> > Thanks for continuing to drive this series Sami.  For the series,
> >
> > Tested-by: Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>
> >
> > I did virtualized boot tests with the series applied to aarch64
> > defconfig without CONFIG_LTO, with CONFIG_LTO_CLANG, and a third time
> > with CONFIG_THINLTO.  If you make changes to the series in follow ups,
> > please drop my tested by tag from the modified patches and I'll help
> > re-test.  Some minor feedback on the Kconfig change, but I'll post it
> > off of that patch.
> >
>
> When you say 'virtualized" do you mean QEMU on x86? Or actual
> virtualization on an AArch64 KVM host?

aarch64 guest on x86_64 host.  If you have additional configurations
that are important to you, additional testing help would be
appreciated.

>
> The distinction is important here, given the potential impact of LTO
> on things that QEMU simply does not model when it runs in TCG mode on
> a foreign host architecture.

-- 
Thanks,
~Nick Desaulniers

Powered by blists - more mailing lists