lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 20 Nov 2020 17:14:36 -0600
From:   "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@...ssion.com>
To:     linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org, criu@...nvz.org,
        bpf@...r.kernel.org,
        Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@...ntu.com>,
        Oleg Nesterov <oleg@...hat.com>,
        Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@...il.com>,
        Jann Horn <jann@...jh.net>, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Daniel P . Berrangé <berrange@...hat.com>,
        Jeff Layton <jlayton@...hat.com>,
        Miklos Szeredi <miklos@...redi.hu>,
        Matthew Wilcox <willy@...radead.org>,
        "J. Bruce Fields" <bfields@...ldses.org>,
        Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@...merspace.com>,
        Chris Wright <chrisw@...hat.com>,
        Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@...com>,
        Song Liu <songliubraving@...com>, Yonghong Song <yhs@...com>,
        Andrii Nakryiko <andriin@...com>,
        John Fastabend <john.fastabend@...il.com>,
        KP Singh <kpsingh@...omium.org>,
        "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@...ssion.com>
Subject: [PATCH v2 19/24] file: In f_dupfd read RLIMIT_NOFILE once.

Simplify the code, and remove the chance of races by reading
RLIMIT_NOFILE only once in f_dupfd.

Pass the read value of RLIMIT_NOFILE into alloc_fd which is the other
location the rlimit was read in f_dupfd.  As f_dupfd is the only
caller of alloc_fd this changing alloc_fd is trivially safe.

Further this causes alloc_fd to take all of the same arguments as
__alloc_fd except for the files_struct argument.

Acked-by: Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@...ntu.com>
v1: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200817220425.9389-15-ebiederm@xmission.com
Signed-off-by: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@...ssion.com>
---
 fs/file.c | 9 +++++----
 1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

diff --git a/fs/file.c b/fs/file.c
index 0d4ec0fa23b3..07e25f1b9dfd 100644
--- a/fs/file.c
+++ b/fs/file.c
@@ -538,9 +538,9 @@ int __alloc_fd(struct files_struct *files,
 	return error;
 }
 
-static int alloc_fd(unsigned start, unsigned flags)
+static int alloc_fd(unsigned start, unsigned end, unsigned flags)
 {
-	return __alloc_fd(current->files, start, rlimit(RLIMIT_NOFILE), flags);
+	return __alloc_fd(current->files, start, end, flags);
 }
 
 int __get_unused_fd_flags(unsigned flags, unsigned long nofile)
@@ -1175,10 +1175,11 @@ SYSCALL_DEFINE1(dup, unsigned int, fildes)
 
 int f_dupfd(unsigned int from, struct file *file, unsigned flags)
 {
+	unsigned long nofile = rlimit(RLIMIT_NOFILE);
 	int err;
-	if (from >= rlimit(RLIMIT_NOFILE))
+	if (from >= nofile)
 		return -EINVAL;
-	err = alloc_fd(from, flags);
+	err = alloc_fd(from, nofile, flags);
 	if (err >= 0) {
 		get_file(file);
 		fd_install(err, file);
-- 
2.25.0

Powered by blists - more mailing lists