lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 20 Nov 2020 09:06:53 +0100
From:   Hans Verkuil <hverkuil@...all.nl>
To:     Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@...ll.ch>,
        DRI Development <dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org>,
        LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Cc:     kvm@...r.kernel.org, linux-mm@...ck.org,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        linux-samsung-soc@...r.kernel.org, linux-media@...r.kernel.org,
        Tomasz Figa <tfiga@...omium.org>,
        Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@...el.com>,
        Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@...pe.ca>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@...el.com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        John Hubbard <jhubbard@...dia.com>,
        Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@...hat.com>,
        Jan Kara <jack@...e.cz>, Pawel Osciak <pawel@...iak.com>,
        Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@...sung.com>,
        Kyungmin Park <kyungmin.park@...sung.com>,
        Laurent Dufour <ldufour@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>,
        Daniel Jordan <daniel.m.jordan@...cle.com>,
        Michel Lespinasse <walken@...gle.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 09/17] media/videbuf1|2: Mark follow_pfn usage as
 unsafe

On 19/11/2020 15:41, Daniel Vetter wrote:
> The media model assumes that buffers are all preallocated, so that
> when a media pipeline is running we never miss a deadline because the
> buffers aren't allocated or available.
> 
> This means we cannot fix the v4l follow_pfn usage through
> mmu_notifier, without breaking how this all works. The only real fix
> is to deprecate userptr support for VM_IO | VM_PFNMAP mappings and
> tell everyone to cut over to dma-buf memory sharing for zerocopy.
> 
> userptr for normal memory will keep working as-is, this only affects
> the zerocopy userptr usage enabled in 50ac952d2263 ("[media]
> videobuf2-dma-sg: Support io userptr operations on io memory").
> 
> Acked-by: Tomasz Figa <tfiga@...omium.org>

Acked-by: Hans Verkuil <hverkuil-cisco@...all.nl>

Thanks!

	Hans

> Signed-off-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@...el.com>
> Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@...pe.ca>
> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@...el.com>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>
> Cc: John Hubbard <jhubbard@...dia.com>
> Cc: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@...hat.com>
> Cc: Jan Kara <jack@...e.cz>
> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@...el.com>
> Cc: linux-mm@...ck.org
> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org
> Cc: linux-samsung-soc@...r.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-media@...r.kernel.org
> Cc: Pawel Osciak <pawel@...iak.com>
> Cc: Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@...sung.com>
> Cc: Kyungmin Park <kyungmin.park@...sung.com>
> Cc: Tomasz Figa <tfiga@...omium.org>
> Cc: Laurent Dufour <ldufour@...ux.ibm.com>
> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>
> Cc: Daniel Jordan <daniel.m.jordan@...cle.com>
> Cc: Michel Lespinasse <walken@...gle.com>
> Signed-off-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@...ll.ch>
> --
> v3:
> - Reference the commit that enabled the zerocopy userptr use case to
>   make it abundandtly clear that this patch only affects that, and not
>   normal memory userptr. The old commit message already explained that
>   normal memory userptr is unaffected, but I guess that was not clear
>   enough.
> ---
>  drivers/media/common/videobuf2/frame_vector.c | 2 +-
>  drivers/media/v4l2-core/videobuf-dma-contig.c | 2 +-
>  2 files changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
> 
> diff --git a/drivers/media/common/videobuf2/frame_vector.c b/drivers/media/common/videobuf2/frame_vector.c
> index a0e65481a201..1a82ec13ea00 100644
> --- a/drivers/media/common/videobuf2/frame_vector.c
> +++ b/drivers/media/common/videobuf2/frame_vector.c
> @@ -70,7 +70,7 @@ int get_vaddr_frames(unsigned long start, unsigned int nr_frames,
>  			break;
>  
>  		while (ret < nr_frames && start + PAGE_SIZE <= vma->vm_end) {
> -			err = follow_pfn(vma, start, &nums[ret]);
> +			err = unsafe_follow_pfn(vma, start, &nums[ret]);
>  			if (err) {
>  				if (ret == 0)
>  					ret = err;
> diff --git a/drivers/media/v4l2-core/videobuf-dma-contig.c b/drivers/media/v4l2-core/videobuf-dma-contig.c
> index 52312ce2ba05..821c4a76ab96 100644
> --- a/drivers/media/v4l2-core/videobuf-dma-contig.c
> +++ b/drivers/media/v4l2-core/videobuf-dma-contig.c
> @@ -183,7 +183,7 @@ static int videobuf_dma_contig_user_get(struct videobuf_dma_contig_memory *mem,
>  	user_address = untagged_baddr;
>  
>  	while (pages_done < (mem->size >> PAGE_SHIFT)) {
> -		ret = follow_pfn(vma, user_address, &this_pfn);
> +		ret = unsafe_follow_pfn(vma, user_address, &this_pfn);
>  		if (ret)
>  			break;
>  
> 

Powered by blists - more mailing lists