lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 26 Nov 2020 18:00:10 +0100
From:   Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...nel.org>
To:     Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...nel.org>
Cc:     lkml <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@...llo.nl>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Namhyung Kim <namhyung@...nel.org>,
        Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Michael Petlan <mpetlan@...hat.com>,
        Song Liu <songliubraving@...com>,
        Ian Rogers <irogers@...gle.com>,
        Stephane Eranian <eranian@...gle.com>,
        Alexey Budankov <alexey.budankov@...ux.intel.com>,
        Andi Kleen <ak@...ux.intel.com>,
        Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@...el.com>
Subject: [PATCH 09/25] perf tools: Add support to read build id from compressed elf

Adding support to decompress file before reading build id.

Adding filename__read_build_id and change its current
versions to read_build_id.

Shutting down stderr output of perf list in the shell test:
  82: Check open filename arg using perf trace + vfs_getname          : Ok

because with decompression code in the place we the
filename__read_build_id function is more verbose in case
of error and the test did not account for that.

Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...nel.org>
---
 .../tests/shell/trace+probe_vfs_getname.sh    |  2 +-
 tools/perf/util/symbol-elf.c                  | 37 ++++++++++++++++++-
 2 files changed, 36 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/tests/shell/trace+probe_vfs_getname.sh b/tools/perf/tests/shell/trace+probe_vfs_getname.sh
index 11cc2af13f2b..3660fcc02fef 100755
--- a/tools/perf/tests/shell/trace+probe_vfs_getname.sh
+++ b/tools/perf/tests/shell/trace+probe_vfs_getname.sh
@@ -20,7 +20,7 @@ skip_if_no_perf_trace || exit 2
 file=$(mktemp /tmp/temporary_file.XXXXX)
 
 trace_open_vfs_getname() {
-	evts=$(echo $(perf list syscalls:sys_enter_open* 2>&1 | egrep 'open(at)? ' | sed -r 's/.*sys_enter_([a-z]+) +\[.*$/\1/') | sed 's/ /,/')
+	evts=$(echo $(perf list syscalls:sys_enter_open* >&1 2>/dev/nul | egrep 'open(at)? ' | sed -r 's/.*sys_enter_([a-z]+) +\[.*$/\1/') | sed 's/ /,/')
 	perf trace -e $evts touch $file 2>&1 | \
 	egrep " +[0-9]+\.[0-9]+ +\( +[0-9]+\.[0-9]+ ms\): +touch\/[0-9]+ open(at)?\((dfd: +CWD, +)?filename: +${file}, +flags: CREAT\|NOCTTY\|NONBLOCK\|WRONLY, +mode: +IRUGO\|IWUGO\) += +[0-9]+$"
 }
diff --git a/tools/perf/util/symbol-elf.c b/tools/perf/util/symbol-elf.c
index 44dd86a4f25f..f3577f7d72fe 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/symbol-elf.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/symbol-elf.c
@@ -534,7 +534,7 @@ static int elf_read_build_id(Elf *elf, void *bf, size_t size)
 
 #ifdef HAVE_LIBBFD_BUILDID_SUPPORT
 
-int filename__read_build_id(const char *filename, struct build_id *bid)
+static int read_build_id(const char *filename, struct build_id *bid)
 {
 	size_t size = sizeof(bid->data);
 	int err = -1;
@@ -563,7 +563,7 @@ int filename__read_build_id(const char *filename, struct build_id *bid)
 
 #else // HAVE_LIBBFD_BUILDID_SUPPORT
 
-int filename__read_build_id(const char *filename, struct build_id *bid)
+static int read_build_id(const char *filename, struct build_id *bid)
 {
 	size_t size = sizeof(bid->data);
 	int fd, err = -1;
@@ -595,6 +595,39 @@ int filename__read_build_id(const char *filename, struct build_id *bid)
 
 #endif // HAVE_LIBBFD_BUILDID_SUPPORT
 
+int filename__read_build_id(const char *filename, struct build_id *bid)
+{
+	struct kmod_path m = { .name = NULL, };
+	char path[PATH_MAX];
+	int err;
+
+	if (!filename)
+		return -EFAULT;
+
+	err = kmod_path__parse(&m, filename);
+	if (err)
+		return -1;
+
+	if (m.comp) {
+		int error = 0, fd;
+
+		fd = filename__decompress(filename, path, sizeof(path), m.comp, &error);
+		if (fd < 0) {
+			pr_debug("Failed to decompress (error %d) %s\n",
+				 error, filename);
+			return -1;
+		}
+		close(fd);
+		filename = path;
+	}
+
+	err = read_build_id(filename, bid);
+
+	if (m.comp)
+		unlink(filename);
+	return err;
+}
+
 int sysfs__read_build_id(const char *filename, struct build_id *bid)
 {
 	size_t size = sizeof(bid->data);
-- 
2.26.2

Powered by blists - more mailing lists