lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 4 Dec 2020 03:00:50 +0200
From:   Vladimir Oltean <olteanv@...il.com>
To:     Richard Cochran <richardcochran@...il.com>
Cc:     Christian Eggers <ceggers@...i.de>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>, Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@...il.com>,
        "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Kurt Kanzenbach <kurt.kanzenbach@...utronix.de>,
        George McCollister <george.mccollister@...il.com>,
        Marek Vasut <marex@...x.de>,
        Helmut Grohne <helmut.grohne@...enta.de>,
        Paul Barker <pbarker@...sulko.com>,
        Codrin Ciubotariu <codrin.ciubotariu@...rochip.com>,
        Tristram Ha <Tristram.Ha@...rochip.com>,
        Woojung Huh <woojung.huh@...rochip.com>,
        Microchip Linux Driver Support <UNGLinuxDriver@...rochip.com>,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org, devicetree@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next v5 9/9] net: dsa: microchip: ksz9477: add
 periodic output support

On Thu, Dec 03, 2020 at 04:45:56PM -0800, Richard Cochran wrote:
> On Thu, Dec 03, 2020 at 04:36:26PM +0100, Christian Eggers wrote:
> > Should ptp_sysfs be extended with a "pulse" attribute with calls
> > enable() with only PTP_PEROUT_DUTY_CYCLE set?
>
> Yes, that would make sense.  It would bring sysfs back to feature
> parity with the ioctls.

Which is a good thing?

Anyway, Christian, if you do decide to do that, here's some context why
I didn't do it when I added the additional knobs for periodic output:
https://www.mail-archive.com/linuxptp-devel@lists.sourceforge.net/msg04150.html

Powered by blists - more mailing lists