lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 18 Dec 2020 18:50:05 +0100
From:   Guido Günther <agx@...xcpu.org>
To:     Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>, Shawn Guo <shawnguo@...nel.org>,
        Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@...gutronix.de>,
        Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@...gutronix.de>,
        Fabio Estevam <festevam@...il.com>,
        NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@....com>,
        Peng Fan <peng.fan@....com>,
        Dong Aisheng <aisheng.dong@....com>,
        Anson Huang <Anson.Huang@....com>,
        Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@...nel.org>,
        Shengjiu Wang <shengjiu.wang@....com>,
        Guido Günther <agx@...xcpu.org>,
        Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@...gutronix.de>,
        devicetree@...r.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH] arm64: dts: imx8mq: Add clock parents for mipi dphy

This makes sure the clock tree setup for the dphy is not dependent on
other components.

Without this change bringing up the display can fail like

  kernel: phy phy-30a00300.dphy.2: Invalid CM/CN/CO values: 165/217/1
  kernel: phy phy-30a00300.dphy.2: for hs_clk/ref_clk=451656000/593999998 ~ 165/217

if LCDIF doesn't set up that part of the clock tree first. This was
noticed when testing the Librem 5 devkit with defconfig. It doesn't
happen when modules are built in.

Signed-off-by: Guido Günther <agx@...xcpu.org>
---
 arch/arm64/boot/dts/freescale/imx8mq.dtsi | 11 ++++++++---
 1 file changed, 8 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm64/boot/dts/freescale/imx8mq.dtsi b/arch/arm64/boot/dts/freescale/imx8mq.dtsi
index a841a023e8e0..ca0847e8f13c 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/boot/dts/freescale/imx8mq.dtsi
+++ b/arch/arm64/boot/dts/freescale/imx8mq.dtsi
@@ -1016,9 +1016,14 @@ dphy: dphy@...00300 {
 				reg = <0x30a00300 0x100>;
 				clocks = <&clk IMX8MQ_CLK_DSI_PHY_REF>;
 				clock-names = "phy_ref";
-				assigned-clocks = <&clk IMX8MQ_CLK_DSI_PHY_REF>;
-				assigned-clock-parents = <&clk IMX8MQ_VIDEO_PLL1_OUT>;
-				assigned-clock-rates = <24000000>;
+				assigned-clocks = <&clk IMX8MQ_VIDEO_PLL1_REF_SEL>,
+						  <&clk IMX8MQ_VIDEO_PLL1_BYPASS>,
+						  <&clk IMX8MQ_CLK_DSI_PHY_REF>,
+						  <&clk IMX8MQ_VIDEO_PLL1>;
+				assigned-clock-parents = <&clk IMX8MQ_CLK_25M>,
+						  <&clk IMX8MQ_VIDEO_PLL1>,
+						  <&clk IMX8MQ_VIDEO_PLL1_OUT>;
+				assigned-clock-rates = <0>, <0>, <24000000>;
 				#phy-cells = <0>;
 				power-domains = <&pgc_mipi>;
 				status = "disabled";
-- 
2.29.2

Powered by blists - more mailing lists