lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 18 Dec 2020 10:50:25 -0800
From:   Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To:     Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org>
Cc:     Bhaskara Budiredla <bbudiredla@...vell.com>,
        Colin Cross <ccross@...roid.com>,
        Tony Luck <tony.luck@...el.com>,
        Sunil Kovvuri Goutham <sgoutham@...vell.com>,
        "linux-mmc@...r.kernel.org" <linux-mmc@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>
Subject: Re: [EXT] Re: [PATCH 1/2] mmc: Support kmsg dumper based on
 pstore/blk

On Wed, Dec 16, 2020 at 11:44:26AM +0100, Ulf Hansson wrote:
> In any case, I didn't catch *why* pstore needs to force block device
> drivers to implement specific pstore hooks to support the pstore file
> system. I don't think this is the way it should work, for many

For panic, pstore must avoid any path that might sleep. In a perfect
world, it should also use as little code as possible, to avoid
potentially tripping over areas of the kernel that might be broken.

-- 
Kees Cook

Powered by blists - more mailing lists