lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 24 Dec 2020 14:17:07 +0200
From:   Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@...il.com>
To:     Daniel Scally <djrscally@...il.com>
Cc:     Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        ACPI Devel Maling List <linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux Media Mailing List <linux-media@...r.kernel.org>,
        devel@...ica.org, "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
        Len Brown <lenb@...nel.org>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Yong Zhi <yong.zhi@...el.com>,
        Sakari Ailus <sakari.ailus@...ux.intel.com>,
        Bingbu Cao <bingbu.cao@...el.com>,
        Tian Shu Qiu <tian.shu.qiu@...el.com>,
        Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@...nel.org>,
        Robert Moore <robert.moore@...el.com>,
        Erik Kaneda <erik.kaneda@...el.com>,
        Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@...il.com>,
        Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@...ux.intel.com>,
        Rasmus Villemoes <linux@...musvillemoes.dk>,
        Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart+renesas@...asonboard.com>,
        Jacopo Mondi <jacopo+renesas@...ndi.org>,
        kieran.bingham+renesas@...asonboard.com,
        Hans Verkuil <hverkuil-cisco@...all.nl>,
        Marco Felsch <m.felsch@...gutronix.de>,
        niklas.soderlund+renesas@...natech.se,
        Steve Longerbeam <slongerbeam@...il.com>,
        "Krogerus, Heikki" <heikki.krogerus@...ux.intel.com>,
        Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 06/14] include: fwnode.h: Define format macros for
 ports and endpoints

On Thu, Dec 24, 2020 at 3:12 AM Daniel Scally <djrscally@...il.com> wrote:
>
> OF, ACPI and software_nodes all implement graphs including nodes for ports
> and endpoints. These are all intended to be named with a common schema,
> as "port@n" and "endpoint@n" where n is an unsigned int representing the
> index of the node. To ensure commonality across the subsystems, provide a
> set of macros to define the format.

Nitpicks below, but in general that's what I meant, thanks!

Reviewed-by: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@...il.com>
(after addressing nitpicks)

> Suggested-by: Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@...ux.intel.com>
> Signed-off-by: Daniel Scally <djrscally@...il.com>
> ---
> Changes in v3
>         - Patch introduced
>
>  include/linux/fwnode.h | 13 +++++++++++++
>  1 file changed, 13 insertions(+)
>
> diff --git a/include/linux/fwnode.h b/include/linux/fwnode.h
> index 9506f8ec0974..52889efceb7d 100644
> --- a/include/linux/fwnode.h
> +++ b/include/linux/fwnode.h
> @@ -32,6 +32,19 @@ struct fwnode_endpoint {
>         const struct fwnode_handle *local_fwnode;
>  };
>
> +/*
> + * ports and endpoints defined in OF, ACPI and as software_nodes should all
> + * follow a common naming scheme; use these macros to ensure commonality across
> + * the subsystems.
> + *
> + * The *PREFIX_LEN macros refer to the length of the "port@" and "endpoint@"

*PREFIX_LEN -> *_PREFIX_LEN

> + * sections of the naming scheme.
> + */
> +#define FWNODE_GRAPH_PORT_NAME_FORMAT          "port@%u"
> +#define FWNODE_GRAPH_PORT_NAME_PREFIX_LEN      5
> +#define FWNODE_GRAPH_ENDPOINT_NAME_FORMAT      "endpoint@%u"
> +#define FWNODE_GRAPH_ENDPOINT_PREFIX_LEN       9

_FORMAT -> _FMT (however, V4L2 guys may correct me, because IIRC _FMT
suffix is also used for other things in v4l2.

>  #define NR_FWNODE_REFERENCE_ARGS       8
>
>  /**

-- 
With Best Regards,
Andy Shevchenko

Powered by blists - more mailing lists